We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Upper Thornliebank

Sitting room front window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sitting room front window
Sitting room with woodburner Twin bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Sitting room front window
Sitting room with woodburner
Twin bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen which has a table
King size bed
Bathroom
entrance from the road
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lindsey S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A fantastic stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We had a lovely time at Upper Thornliebank. The place was brilliantly situated, overlooking the picturesque town - and the sun was out all week too! The house was well stocked with games, books and DVDs had the weather been worse. Providing a range of outdoor equipment was a nice touch and very unexpected. We had a lovely stay. Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The atmosphere
Liked least: A few of the fixtures and fittings are a little tired, and in need of fixing.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views
Liked least: the steep hill down to the co-op!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John W
Letchworth, Herts.
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable self-catering accommodation with a panoramic view over Tobermory Bay and beyond.”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in the two apartments, one family including dog in each. The rooms were large and comfortable, with well equipped kitchens. There is a tiny garden with barbecue area that would have provided shelter if the weather had been especially wet. The view across the bay was spectacular.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and convenient location above the town.
Liked least: Cramped garden.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave M
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb accomodation”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was the third place we have stayed in Tobermory, and definitely has the pick of the views from the bedrooms and the sitting room.

A great value, well thought out apartment with one large bedroom and one small bedroom. I think one of the sofas in the living room is also a sofa bed. The beds are extremely comfortable!

The kitchen has a small table which we didn't use and plenty of crockery and cutlery. There was also a dishwasher which was a real treat for us.

The flat was nice and cosy - too warm for us at times in fact, and we had to adjust the heating so that it didn't get so warm. There's also a log burner in the living room which I imagine would be fantastic in winter.

The living room is large and has a dining table, two sofas and an armchair. There is a TV with DVD player and freeview TV. Despite this there was still plenty of space and our one year old enjoyed playing in the room without us worrying about him knocking into things.

The bathroom was large and had a bath with a shower. A bath was important to us for washing the little one, and many properties only seem to have a shower these days. The shower was great, plenty of pressure and warmth.

There's also an outside covered area, shared with the other flat and self catering cottage which would be lovely to sit and have a drink in on a rainy evening.

Nikki provided us with a high chair, travel cot and stair gate which was really helpful.

If I had to pick, the blinds and curtains did not shut out much light which woke me up early in the morning, and the wifi signal was very weak in parts of the flat, but these are very tiny criticisms in what was a totally positive experience.

We'd definitely like to return to Tobermory before long, and should be do so, it will hopefully be in this flat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation, what an amazing view”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I have just returned from an amazing weekend in Tobermory. The accommodation offered was fantastic, Beautifully presented, well stocked with tea/coffee & offered my family & I the best views in the town. I hope to return soon. I would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone thinking of visiting the isle of Mull.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views & friendly owner
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing