We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oakfield Cottage - a perfect base for a Mull...”
other travellers have booked this property
Oakfield Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oakfield Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Oakfield Cottage
Sunrise from the Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Tobermory, Isle of Mull, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
J C
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
1 review
“Oakfield Cottage - a perfect base for a Mull experience”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I found Oakfield cottage by searching online for self catering accomodation on Mull. From the first contact with Jean and Alasdair the response was friendly , speedy and efficient.

We found the cottage with no problems and what a great location. Situated up a quiet lane with great views but just 5 minutes walk down into Tobermory bay.

The cottage had everything we needed and was warm and inviting - very welcome as the weather was mixed to say the least ! Still plenty to do and see though. Lovely autumn colours on the island in October

We met Jean and Alasdair later in the week and they were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our week there very much.

We would recommend Oakfield cottage to anyone looking for a base in Tobermory. So handy for Tobermory itself and getting to some of the other areas on MUll and nice to meet friendly owners who are genuinely interested in you having a good stay.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your very positive review. Sorry we were only able to be around for part of the week you stayed at Oakfield Cottage. It was a pleasure to meet you both.
very best wishes
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alanishbe...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Inspired Choice!”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Comfortable and convenient for everything around the north end of Mull. Jean and Alasdair made us very welcome and provided helpful advice on local sights and activities. Do remember to follow Jean's directions to Oakfield. I thought I'd sortedt it out using GPS and Street View but neither worked. The upside was that I got the opportunity to ask for directions from several local people who could not have more helpful.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for Oakfield Cottage. It was a pleasure to have you staying at Oakfield Cottage - its always great to welcome three generations. Hopefully we will see you all back some time soon.
very best wishes
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola538
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peaceful!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

My husband, son and I spent a week in Oakfield cottage.The cottage is spacious and very comfortable. We loved the location, just a few minutes down the lane and footpath and we were on the Main Street of Tobermory. However it was in a very peaceful location with no passing traffic and the garden was alive with birds! Jean and Alastair were very welcoming, available if needed but not intrusive. We would definitely stay at Oakfield cottage.again if on Mull.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2014
Hello and thank you very much for your review - we are glad you liked Oakfield Cottage and we hope that you will all return some day. It was a pleasure to meet you all.
Very best wishes
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrenaPrzy...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Great cottage, lovely welcome, perfect location for wildlife spotting”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Oakfield Cottage was perfect for our second visit to Mull. We cannot fault the communication prior to and during our stay. We were given a warm welcome, bottle of wine and clear instructions for everything in the property. The location was a short walk from the main street which had cafes, restaurants, pubs and the famous fish and chip van. February is pre-season so some typical tourist attractions were not open, but we were there for wild life spotting and photography - the information file at the cottage helped us lots. We spotted otters, seals, golden and sea eagles, stags, goats and more. There was plenty of room and storage for outdoor boots and coats, parking area was large, kitchen well equipped and there is a large comfortable lounge which looked out to the garden with bird feeders and pretty flowers. We have recommended the cottage to friends and would love to visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and welcome
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2014
Hello Irena
Thank you very much for writing a review for Oakfield Cottage - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Thank you too for recommending us to your friends . It would be great to see you back some time.
Very best wishes to you both
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Reviewed 24 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jan 2014
Hello- thank you very much for your review for your New Year stay with us at Oakfield Cottage. It was great to see you again, we are really pleased that you had a really relaxing stay.
Hope to see you soon. Very best wishes,
Jean & Alasdair
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing