We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“good location for visiting north Lewis”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chalet Coll

Front Chalet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front Chalet
Outside decking for relaxing & having barbecues Sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Front Chalet
Outside decking for relaxing & having barbecues
Sitting area
Kitchen
Shower room with 'power shower'
Double bedroom
Single bedroom with bunk beds
Play area
Stornoway
Lews Castle in Stornoway
Loch Seaforth - Ullapool to Stornoway
New ferry & old ferry Feb/2015
Typical coast views for Lewis & Harris
West side of Island
Lewis sheep
Driving towards Coll beach
Bernera bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
escarpmen...
Hamilton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good location for visiting north Lewis”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is a clean and cozy little chalet for a couple or 3 persons. It has a well equipped kitchen (you can shop for groceries in nearby Stornaway). If you plan to visit the interesting sites in North Lewis this is an ideal location. It is a little tricky to find, but if you remember to turn Left at the Equestrian sign you will be on the right road.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Hi esccarpmentlady, many thanks for your review. Yes a lot of people find this area an ideal location for exploring the whole Island and also close proximity to our main town Stornoway. With your guidance regarding directions from yourself and others we now send more detailed directions to visitors prior to their arrival and this is making things less frustrating as there is nothing worse after travelling than struggling to find a place. Cheers Iain & Ishbal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garry T
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“well worth it”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Ideal accommodation for our needs, chalet may be small but use of space is really good. nice touch with fresh milk in fridge .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: all round accomodation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2016
Many thanks for your review Garry and we love getting top rating. Best regards from Iain & Ishbal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
historygi...
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cosy and well equipped”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It was snowing when we stayed but the chalet was always warm and we were comfortable. It is well equipped, especially the kitchen.It is small and compact but not cramped , the only thing I disliked was the tiny sink in the shower room.Powerful power shower.Biscuits and fresh milk when we arrived and basic tea/coffee etc in the cupboards and every cleaning material you could think of.Pleasant drive out to the chalet past a lovely beach, quiet and peaceful but easy to get into Stornaway and round the island. Look for the turn off to Outend and underneath the sign for Hebridean Equestrian Centre.We would stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: warm and cosy
Liked least: the tiny sink in the shower room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thanks for your review, this helps us to get things better. I do agree about the sink being a bit on the small side - we will be changing the sink to a slightly larger one in the near future. Hoping to have both you stay at the chalet again. Kindest regards Iain & Ishbal
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm M
1 review
“Well planned, peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

A thoughtfully planned chalet. Spotlessly clean, and the facilities made it very easy to manage, Peaceful and private. Very good value and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private and easily managed
Liked least: No problems whatsoever.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian A
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Little Chalet”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Chalet Coll is a very comfortable and cosy little chalet. It has been well designed to make best advantage of the space inside. Being in the country, it is very quiet and peaceful and has ample room for parking as well as a play area and decking.
The chalet is well located for exploring Lewis and Harris and is also quite handy (10 mins drive) for Stornoway with its shops and restaurants. The owners were pleasant and helpful. I would definitely come here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful surroundings
Liked least: No problem areas
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
Thanks and grateful for all your comments. Only recently we were aware that we could respond to the comments we got for our chalet coll. We do appreciate all the nice responses we got from all these lovely people from all over the world. We have met so many lovely people from all over the world last summer, from next door English to our Scottish, French, Spain, Germans, Australians and people from as far away as the east and they all loved being here on their vocation visiting our Islands. All of these nice visitors gave us a lovely sense of security, We hope we will have the privilege of meeting all of these kinds of people next year and in the further future. Thanks for your review Gillian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing