We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$208
View deal
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
135
173
65
18
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
135
173
65
18
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift overlooking the harbour breakfast was included first floor street parking comfortable bed two nights lovely room stayed one night family room room was large warm welcome lewis and harris porridge hs1 castle extractor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2021

Great hotel. Lovely staff and fab food.
Our room was at the front and the noise of the same 3 or 4 wee boys racing up and down was awful. 2 nights of this and I’m afraid it would prevent us from staying there in the future. You need to have a word with the local police and get them to divert the boys somewhere else. Hours and hours of this onto the wee hours is not fun.
At £185 per night too……..

Room tip: Not at the front, unfortunately
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyBuckingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 July 2021

Ideally placed on the sea front in the middle of town. Despite being centrally situated there is not a lot of noise especially at night. Room was fine and spotlessly clean. Food in restaurant for breakfast and dinner was excellent both in quality and quantity. Staff all very friendly

Room tip: Try and get a harbour view room
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Albert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2021

This was our last hotel of a 10 day trip cycling our tandem along the Hebridean way
we had a fantastic room with a view of the sea and castle. The hotel was well aware and very careful with regard to covid compliance - it felt very clean and safe. The staff were very welcoming and helped answer any questions

They arranged for our tandem to be stored in a secure room at their sister hotel which was great and reassuring.

we ate both nights in the Boatshed - great food especially the langoustines and a good selection of whiskies with which to celebrate our trip.

thank you for a memorable stay

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Lovely family meal, service was spot on, food was very very good, would recommend highly! The fillet of fish, in this case cod, with a cockle sauce was outstanding as was the apple pie, best I’ve eaten in a long time!! Would definitely return here when I visit Stornoway again

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank C4808EIkarenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2021

We spent one night at the Royal Hotel. On site parking was limited, but we got lucky! There's also time-limited street parking nearby. Early afternoon check-in was straightforward, and we were advised to book very soon for the evening meal - we got the last table! The room was comfortable, though the twin beds were a bit hard, and the late night shower was tepid, though fine in the morning. The meal at the Boatshed was excellent.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews