We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$178
PricelineUS$178
Agoda.comUS$177
TripadvisorUS$177
StayForLong
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
174
168
62
23
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
168
62
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews noise from the street friendly hotel ferry terminal single room first class stornoway black pudding cooked breakfast town centre isle of lewis earplugs castle gin island sunday lews toiletries scotland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

All I can say is if you are thinking of staying here, don’t! We booked it so that we could watch the football as it has a sports bar but on the night England and Italy played in the finals, the sports bar was shut… and the TVs in the rooms were not working. Neither were the light bulbs. The shower ran from freezing cold to boiling hot, but the beds were fairly comfortable. The overall place is rather drab and old and the breakfast was really horrible. My avocado and eggs made me gag. My partners cooked breakfast wasn’t much better. Even the orange juice tasted horrid. £158 for one night and I’d rather sleep in a local peat bog than return here.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 459sthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2021

We stayed 3 nights here in June. We were allocated a very small (cramped) double room overlooking the main road and a rowdy bar opposite. We immediately asked we could move and were promised a move the following day. But then told it wasn’t possible. Very disappointed. The shower room was tiny, with no shampoo or toiletries supplied. It was very noisy - both from outside and from the room next door where 2 dogs barked a lot.
The food in the restaurant was good, but pricey. Breakfast had been quoted at £6.99 when we booked, but had increased to £9.99 when we arrived.
If we could have found alternative accommodation- we would have moved. I was very unhappy.
The staff were pleasant and the position of the hotel was very central.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2021 via mobile

Lovely vegan pizza. We are used to being disappointed, so when we find somewhere that does vegan food well, we appreciate it. I had the Vegan hoisin duck pizza and my husband had the veg pizza with vegan mozzarella. Gert lush as they say in Somerset

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2021

I had seen recommendations for the Crown Inn for gluten free and great to see the menu clearly marked. We had dinner here while in Stornoway, venison burger and chips and cheesecake. Food tasted great, staff were friendly and happy to check about cross contamination for chips, for which I was so grateful. Nicely spread out restaurant for covid restrictions.

Room tip: great good and good clear menu
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsWilson305
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2021 via mobile

Visited the Crown with 2 old friends for a catch up and it didn't disappoint. The staff were fantastic, we had a couple of drinks at the bar before going through to restaurant, great friendly service. We had the fajitas, a pizza and mac n cheese, all perfect. I would highly recommend a visit, bravo. Staff are amazing

Room tip: Get the Fajitas
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank AngusMitchell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews