We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just wonderful :-)”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tigh-na-Greine

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relaxing at the fire with a cup of tea
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Relaxing at the fire with a cup of tea
Walking the Postman path from Urgha to Renigidale, Harris
Two's company - Life on the edge
Surfing on the beach at Dalmore
Carloway sheep taking in the view of Loch Roag
Time for a dip
Do we have to go home already?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Finn Boe...
1 review
“Just wonderful :-)”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The two of us spent 6 nights in the house, and enjoyed every single moment there.

The house was exactly as advertised, and everything was in good condition. Great location (and the weather was great too....), but of course you need a car.

We would definately love to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ilona256
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had great time here! The cottage is located in a small town which is a great base to explore Lewis and Harris. And just few minutes away you can even buy Harris tweed!
Cottage itself is just great- it has everything you can (or can't!) think of- kitchen is so well equipped that you really don't have to take any kitchen appliances with you! It even has a washing powder, hand soap, kitchen towels and so on..!
It also has 2 coal stoves- one in the kitchen and one in the living room which makes the place warm and cosy.
Owners were great. Isobel was very approachable and helpful. We were welcomed with tea and beautiful home made cake!
On top of it- the cottage is a dog friendly! Our dog loved running around spacious garden! Highly recommended place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and coal stove in the living room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sgoofy74
Colorado
2 reviews
“Jumped out of window due to broken handle.”
Reviewed 1 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Do not lease in the winter. The house is setup for warm weather and due to drafts and the heat settings there is no way to get it to a comfortable temperature. We live in an area that is comparable in temperature. It was warmer outside in the morning than with the heat on as high as we could before bed.

We also got locked into the front room due to a broken door handle. This required my spouse to jump out the front window (8+ft drop) almost breaking his toe to get the door open from the other side. When mentioned to the owner we received a form letter response without even a mention of concern.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: great location
Liked least: every window and door created drafts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2015
I'm sorry to hear of your difficulties while staying in our holiday home. The main issue would appear to be the heating in the cottage, despite there being a plentiful supply of coal and logs for the kitchen and sitting room, as well as a central heating system - with automated programming as well as manual over-ride to boost the system if required - throughout the house.
On meeting you on arrival I clearly informed you that if you had any problems you could contact us by phone, unfortunately,you made no effort to do this, and it was the day following your departure that you emailed regarding these problems.
As you will see from previous reviews, our guests this season have enjoyed the cosiness, warmth and seclusion of the cottage and I am sure that prospective guests will weigh your review against the several very positive reviews received throughout the season
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing