We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 9 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveller rating
43
55
43
27
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
43
55
43
27
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 202 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2021

Called in to their Pit Stop for a meal. No signs, directions at door. Sat down at a clean table (restaurant definitely not busy) no one came. Table nearby advised me to go to bar as service was very slow. Went to bar and after they decided to actually ask what I wanted (a menu) was told "they weren't taking people" . Won't be back.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 414ianu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 June 2021 via mobile

Signed from road as pit stop but wouldn’t bother! 2 cups of instant coffee for £5 and it took us 10 mins to find someone to serve us. Keep going north to Bragar where there is a delightful cafe serving real coffee and tasty lunches. Wouldn’t recommend dounes as a place to stop.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 27ali27
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2021 via mobile

I had an enjoyable 3 night stay at Doune Braes hotel. Eileen and her team are friendly and work hard. I needed to be near the Callanish Stones and Garenin Village for some photography and this hotel is mid way between the two.

The hotel won't suit everyone as it is dated (1970s I would say!) and a bit dusty in places, and food is satisfactory rather than marvellous but I enjoyed it, met nice staff and regularly chatted with other guests who were very friendly.

For anyone arriving on public transport the bus from Stornoway stops outside the hotel.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank MigsEarWigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2021 via mobile

Lovely and very helpful people who work here - tgey really go out of their way to help if they can. It's nothing particularly fancy - rooms are modest and the area is very rural, but if you want to stay near Calanais or Carloway for a night, it's more than suitable.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 August 2019 via mobile

The Duane Bræs hotel is very basic for the money. Even after booking this hotel for the whole group more than one year ahead, they still did put our group all together in adjoining rooms, rather,booking other strangers in rooms amongst us & sending others in our group more than 1 mile away in other accommodations. Hotel mgt paid no attention to special needs info.Was meet w/ nearly hostile & dismissive comments regarding a guests severe allergies. Back rooms (especially hallway) are musty & dank. Food is reasonably good, but when one can't sleep...who cares?! DO NOT STAY HERE.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank nhz2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douneown, Owner at Doune Braes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2019

The tour operator was and is fully aware that all the group could not be accommodated in the hotel, and was in full agreement with the cottage being used for 2 members of the group. Neither the management or staff would treat any guest with hostility or be dismissive to them, we are renowned for our caring kind attitude to guests, and go the extra mile to make guests feel welcome. None of our rooms are as you describe them or the halls leading to the rooms.

Our food is prepared using all fresh produce, as much local as we can procure. We always take allergies and dietary requirements seriously and so will happily cater to them, We at Doune Braes would be happy to investigate this further for you , if you could email us at hebrides@doune-braes.co.uk with further details of your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews