We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Eranca was the highlight of my honeymoon”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eranca cottage

summer relaxing at Eranca
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
summer relaxing at Eranca
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
summer relaxing at Eranca
great place to see the otters
views as you sit on the decking at the cottage
view from outside the cottage
Fully fitted kitchen
Dining area
Hallway
Luxury bathroom
luxury bedroom
time to relax
Dalmore beach,only 7 miles from the cottage
views of sleeping beauty from the Eranca cottage
sitting on the decking enjoying this spectacular view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Breasclete, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
JLRous
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eranca was the highlight of my honeymoon”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Angus and Aggie were amazing hosts...from the personalized champagne flutes to the amazing selection of cakes left for us on arrival, we felt so welcomed. The cottage was quiet, the appliances were top of the line, the whirlpool tub was incredible, the bed was cozy...it was perfect. It is central to most of the tourist attractions on Lewis (very short drives away from the standing stones, the Carloway Broch, and the blackhouses), and only an hour away from the white sand beaches of Harris...but really, we also just enjoyed lounging at the cottage after we'd seen all the sights!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The tub and the big screen TV!
Liked least: No hangers or space to hang up clothes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim M
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage and location”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Angus and Aggie were the perfect hosts - greeted on arrival and presented with a delicious selection of cakes.
The location is great - peaceful and serene overlooking Loch Roag with a patio complete with deck chairs to sit and admire the view. We even watched three otters at play one evening in the loch.
This detached one bedroom cottage is fitted to the highest standard and is perfect for a base to tour the Isles of Lewis and Harris.
We really appreciated relaxing in the whirlpool bath after the long walks during the day.
Great WiFi connection and the 50 inch TV is cool too.
I would thoroughly recommend this cottage and would return in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, luxury fittings and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flory44
Stbalbans
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We are so grateful for finding this cottage and having the privelidge of meeting aggy and Angus the owners of Eranca Cottage.from the moment we arrived and throughout our stay we felt so welcome. The cottage is beautiful and so well equipted. A real home from home. The cakes on arrival were such a lovely surprise and were delicious. The sky tv and the excellent wifi were brilliant.
The location was perfect for discovering everything the isle of lewis and Harris have to offer with some of the most stunning beaches we have ever seen. One of our highlights was watching the otters play in the loch at the bottom of the garden. We can definately recommend the loch roag guest house just up the road for an evening meal. Good homemade food and a very reasonable price. Just speak to aggy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The holiday coming to an end
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ewan456
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Clean and modern, well equipped cottage with a great view.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We can't recommend Eranca cottage enough. It's perfectly situated on a loch, a stones throw for the Callanish standing stones, 20 mins from Stornoway. The nearby hotel (5 mins drive) serves good food.

The living room/kitchen area is very comfortable, the French doors allow you to relax on the sofa while enjoying the view over the loch, the bathroom has great shower and bath.

The owners are very friendly and helpful (sorry for the late review!). The cakes on arrival were a great touch.

This is a perfect cottage for a couple.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexMacke...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super modern and well located”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

You really can't ask for more than this - the cottage is perfectly appointed, being recently setup with a very modern vibe and has just everything you'd require for a couple. Lovely living / kitchen, sky TV etc. I'd say the highlights are the brill power shower and Jacuzzi, good internet wifi (nice surprise for yo' city folks?) and a lovely private sitting/decking area overlooking the loch.
Aside from the accommodation what was wonderful was the the personal touch from the superb owners next door - Aggie and Angus - which really made it for us, as they were just so warm and welcoming. It 's the small touches that make something memorable and this stay really stands out in all respects. (They also have the cutest pet lamb next door which my g/f wanted to take home , so watch out for that!)
Great value, top location for exploring, we really hope to return some day and I can't praise this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Shower
Liked least: remember to turn on the water heater button on arrival in kitchen, cold shower on day 1 was bracing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$107
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing