We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“BRILLIANT”
other travellers have booked this property
The property (on the left) from the main road
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The property (on the left) from the main road
Taigh Granaidh Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The property (on the left) from the main road
Taigh Granaidh
Lounge
Master Bedroom
Front bedroom
Twin Room
Kitchen / Dinette
Shower Room
Bathroom
House from garden
Front garden coming into its own in early summer
View from lounge
Sunset from croft
View from hills a short walk out the back of the house towards Harris hills
Winter sunset from croft
Callanish Stones (5 minutes by car)
Shingle shore on Loch Roag a short walk from croft
Beach view from Great Bernera
Loch Roag from Breasclete Pier
Dalmore beach in Carloway (10 minutes by car)
Loch Amhister popular for trout fishing (5 minutes by car)
Rear garden
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Breasclete, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
501tricia
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

What a FANTASTIC place to stay, Caroline and Kenny most the welcoming of people you could wish to meet. the welcome pack was the best we have experienced and very much appreciated. The cottage was VERY well equipped with everything you needed and more, very comfortable and immaculate, Kenny's weaving demonstration was a highlight and interesting, also they took the time to tell us of places of interest in all you cannot fault the cottage and our hosts, would recommend it without a doubt, Thank you Caroline and Kenny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing i disliked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thanks folks, lovely meeting people so enthusiastic about exploring, great way to close off our season. Very best from us both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catwoman9...
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Totally amazing relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Thank you Caroline and Kenny for making us feel welcome and like part of your family. The views are amazing from every window. Loved seeing Kenny working the loom very interesting. Loved playing with Dot and Sheila (the girls) such adorable dogs. The house is just like granny has gone shopping and let us move in (felt a bit like Goldilocks). All five in our party totally relaxed and enjoyed the experience. We will definitely be back with or without the others. Many thanks for the welcoming goodies flowers, cheese, wine, oatcakes and pancakes hubby loving the homemade rhubarb jam (his favourite). Well done a lovely home from home. Love Alex and Brenda Nicol
You

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
Thank you was lovely to meet you all. Welcome back anytime;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa J
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Perfect Home for a Holiday”
Reviewed 7 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Caroline and Kenny greeted us with an incredibly warm welcome. Our arrival to the cottage was met with a lovely plate of homemade scones and fresh flowers and this warm welcome was extended with local knowledge and also to the children who feel in love their two dogs and of course the chickens. The cottage had everything we could have asked for and more. It’s a great location with a stunning view and sunset’s easy distance to the local beaches and for reaching various parts of the island. We had a fantastic time and already miss 'our' little cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Lovely to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Everything you need for a brilliant holiday...and a lot more besides!”
Reviewed 6 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Caroline and Kenny helped make our stay on the Isle of Lewis really memorable starting with a cheery welcome (with fresh eggs and scones!), a home from home with everything we needed (plus extras such as a great library of books, music system, binoculars, chickens for the children to feed, and amazing sunsets), and a fascinating insight into life on the island, the culture, weaving and farming.

The house, with its lovely garden was warm, welcoming and gave us the ideal base from which to explore the history and landscapes of Lewis and Harris. It all added up to a fantastic holiday and we were sad to leave when the week was up.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome, space, quiet and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Lovely to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DevonCatL...
Deepest Devon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location, comfort, views, and lovely hosts - it had the lot.”
Reviewed 6 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We absolutely loved this place. It was homely and relaxed, well equipped and very comfortable, and perfectly located for getting around the islands. We were warm and snug despite all that the weather could throw at us - and it did throw it all this time, but WOW those dramatic skies! The views were lovely, and we were surrounded by sheep (they were down around the croft to lamb). Immediately next door the old house is now used just as a loom shed, and it was interesting to see what is involved in weaving Harris Tweed. Kenny and Caroline were so friendly and very helpful, and never short of a suggestion for somewhere we might like to visit. I usually find self-catering a bit restricting food-wise because you just don't have all the ingredients to hand, so I was surprised to find sea-salt, fish sauce, balsamic vinegar,oregano, and so on, as well as foil and baking paper, and loads of equipment - it has to be the best equipped rental we have ever found.
If I was forced to nit-pick, the stair lift was a bit awkward when getting cases up and down the stairs, but if we had been more enterprising we would have used it! I loved the idea that it was kitted out for a disabled person because the Outer Hebrides has to be the best possible holiday for a disabled person - all they have to do is sit in the car as all the wonderful views unfold before them.
There were loads of books - novels, guides, kids' books, language courses, games, you name it. We didn't use the TV/Sky/Radio all week. There was sufficient internet to keep in touch.
And best of all it had comfortable beds and lovely pillows.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything but especially the location
Liked least: I can't actually think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Thanks for your lovely review, nice to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing