We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best place in the world for the 'White Nights'”
other traveller has booked this property
Belmont House exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Belmont House exterior
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Belmont House exterior
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Staircase
Exterior in Northern Lights
Dining Room
Family Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Unst, Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy F
Catania
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The best place in the world for the 'White Nights'”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a spectacular place to stay for a special occasion. The management arranged for a chef to cook a meal at the house for my 60th birthday. At the end of June there an be nowhere better to stay but bring waterproofs and a jersey.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sally r
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Belmont House - perfect venue for special family celebration”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recently hired Belmont House for accommodation to celebrate my mum's 70th birthday. I wanted a special place to give a sense of occasion and Belmont House certainly didn't disappoint, in fact it was perfect. Karen was extremely helpful in organising our stay and we took advantage of the private chef service for a family dinner. I can thoroughly recommend it. The chef and waitress looked after us and created a lovely, intimate dining experience.

Belmont House is a perfect mix of grandeur and homeliness. It is so welcoming and really is the perfect setting for a special family celebration. It also feels very child-friendly and we appreciated the games & puzzles which kept our kids entertained whilst we enjoyed an aperitif in the drawing room.

There is so much to recommend, from the beautiful palette of paintwork, soft furnishings and artwork, to the fantastic level of comfort of the beds.

My only complaint is that our stay was too short and I will be back at the earliest opportunity for a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The private dining experience and the bedding which was divine! And our children loved the box beds.
Liked least: There is nothing that I did not like, except that our stay was too short.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laurie g
Lerwick, United Kingdom
1 review
“Most enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Belmont House was a lovely destination, excellent accommodation - comfy beds, good bedding and a beautiful setting. Unst is a treasure!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaretg...
Tingwall, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxurious large restored 1720 house”
Reviewed 4 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This beautiful old house is perfect for large groups and special occasions. We stayed with a group of 11 family and friends but there was plenty room for extra visitors at meal times. Every room is a delight. The dining room is formal; we managed to fit 13 around the oblong table. The large drawing room is perfect for groups, with a smaller cosy living room downstairs. The kitchen is well appointed; the large range is well suited to mass catering. The beds are luxurious with the best quality bedding I've every slept in, and super comfy pillows and mattresses. The bathrooms were full of character; large deep cast iron baths and piping hot water (for the first few bathers at least). It was snowing when we were there but the house was toasty cosy. In summer I imagine that children would love exploring the gardens around the house and one of the outhouses could make a children's den with living room and bedroom. I can't wait to go back.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The beds and bedding are exquisite; the comfiest ever.
Liked least: Limited disabled access. Ground toilet has a level access shower but the only ground floor bed is a sofa bed in the small living room.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annette G
West Sandwick
1 review
“Just lovely.”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I would certainly recommend this accommodation to a group seeking a relaxing break. We were a large group, but had plenty of room to either socialise or spend quiet time in one of the living rooms.
The property has been beautifully done up, and is unusually well appointed; plenty of crockery and cooking utensils of all sizes. The bed-linen is a true luxury experience; I hadn't seen the point of expensive cotton bedding until this weekend....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The luxury of staying in a real Georgian house, with modern amenities.
Liked least: Having to leave after only a few days.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$561
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing