We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
215
107
24
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
215
107
24
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmuckle roelots of charactersteakold buildingbar mealssalmonlarge portionscooked to perfectionprawnsan overnight staycheesecakea lovely place to staystaff were all very friendlycomfortable hotellounge bardrawing roomfour poster bed
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were driving through Brae, looking for a coffee stop, we saw a sign for the hotel and thought they must serve coffee. We were not disappointed, we were met by a very nice young man who showed us to the quaintest of drawing rooms, American visitors must love it! I am always dubious about a cafetiere of coffee as sometimes it just isn't strong enough but this was good and it came with some cute little shortbread biscuits.
So a couple of days later when we were looking for somewhere to go for an evening meal, we looked at the website, the menu looked good. We hadn't booked but there was tables available, I had the Shetland hill lamb, so tasty, oh my goodness it was so tender. My partner had the beef pie, which he also enjoyed, scraping the pie dish absolutely clean. The bar meals are also reasonably priced, with drinks it came to under £40. All the waiting staff were lovely and the atmosphere very sociable.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank melanie1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Spent 19 nights at the Busta House. Wonderful experience throughout. Fabulous meals. Very helpful and kind staff. Very helpful to carry luggage - we had eighteen cases! Room with view of voe rather than ocean! Watched sunrise come up over the hills. Room overlooked pleasant garden. Architecture somewhat quirky, but parts of the house go back 18th century

Room Tip: Room overlooking gardens + voe
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank normanmidell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

Stayed in April 2018..This is the 2nd yr we stayed for a friends 6oth/61st birthday.Our small group have homes in Shetland but not on the mainland of Shetland..I am from England originally & just love Bustas' (pronounced boosters' ) quaintness... very tastefully decorated with very old parts of the building still retaining original features..The staff & management are extremely welcoming & service is excellent with lots of though & care..A very charming old country house with history & character, an amazing long-room for pre dinner, after dinner drinks & delightful gardens leading to the tiny old harbour

Room Tip: Ask for the details of each room, as the rooms are named after local place names/areas
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank HocusPocusDiddlyDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful place. Parts are 500 year old so the rooms are smallish but en suite and the floors creek. . Extremely charming. Well maintained ed Wil very nice grounds.
The bar is fantastic with a very large selection of whisky which the bar man will discuss with you.
Dinner was unbelievable from the rack of lamb to the finish. Then coffee in the parlor.
Detonate recommend.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank wohauckIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018

Friendly helpful staff.At at busy times ,breakfast ordering was slow.Bar food good and reasonably priced.We would definately go to Busta House there again if I was wanting to visit that area of Shetland.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heather g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews