We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ivy Cottage

Looking up from millpond to Ivy Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking up from millpond to Ivy Cottage
Cottage with Ben Wyvis in background Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Looking up from millpond to Ivy Cottage
Cottage with Ben Wyvis in background
Living room
View from patio at Ivy Cottage
Master Double Bedroom with Anta tartan
Driveway leading to ivy Cottage
Kitchen / dining area
Bathroom re-furbished 2014
Bathroom re-furbished 2014
Twin Bedroom
Cottage with a snowy  Ben Wyvis in background
Kitchen
Nighttime sky at cottage
Standing stones above cottage
Master double Bedroom
Master bedroom
Sheep graze in the fields surrounding the cottage.
Bedroom 3 with superior bunk beds.
View from kitchen window.
A warm welcome awaits you.
View from patio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Strathpeffer, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
squinthor...
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Ivy Cottage has the most stunning views, and we could have spent 4 days just watching the changing scenery and cloudscapes from the kitchen and panoramic bedrooms The cottage is beautifully fitted-out with everything you could wish, and the freesat and wifi worked very well for the duration. The bedrooms were very comfortable, and the living space is ample, with a great log fire ! We loved being able to explore many of the fantastic walks, waterfalls, coastal towns like Dornoch, as well as South Loch Ness and Fort Augustus. Dingwall is under 10 mins drive, and Inverness is 30 mins in the car. The weather was perfect, and we and our baby daughter had wonderful sleeps every night in what is a tranquil and unspoilt part of the Highlands. The owners were so warm and welcoming, and really went that extra mile to ensure we had a great time. We cannot recommend Ivy Cottage highly enough. We hope to be back one day !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Glad you all enjoyed your stay at Ivy Cottage and were able to relax and enjoy the beauty of the area. Reviews like this make running the cottage so worthwhile !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sineadb85
Belfast
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage with most beautiful view”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed in Ivy Cottage with my partner and baby son. have to say this has to be the most relaxing trip we have had. The cottage is beautiful and equipped with everything you could possibly want or need. The welcome basket is a lovely touch. The views from the cottage are fantastic it's hard to believe you are only 5mins from Dingwall town. Waking up every morning to sheep and lambs is a refreshing change to traffic noise and general city living. Thanks to Angus and Fiona, for your hospitality, we will definitely be back again soon.
Sinead,Liam & Nathan.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Ivy Cottage - Katie the pet lamb is missing all the attention you gave her !!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely and relaxing”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We spent the Easter long weekend at Ivy Cottage and couldn't have been happier - we wished it could have been longer! The cottage was immaculate and cosy, and the hosts, Angus, Fiona and Emma, had thought of everything in terms of making it a very easy stay for us. The views from the cottage are sensational and we loved the peaceful outlook over both Dingwall and Strathpeffer. The cottage is ideally suited to visiting the surrounding areas as there are so many great places just a relatively short and scenic drive away. We also loved just staying put and enjoying the river and extensive land behind the cottage to go for walks etc. Angus was very welcoming and our children loved being involved in the lambing. We would recommend this as a family holiday experience. The welcome basket was a lovely touch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2014
It was a pleasure having you all at Ivy Cottage and seeing the children so involved in the busy lambing period made our day. Pity they missed todays excitement as the first totally black lamb was born on the croft.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarmarSur...
Surrey Uk
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A wonderful place to stay. The cottage is beautiful, thoughtfully equipped and delightfully decorated with the most amazing views. The welcome basket was a lovely touch. Best of all though was the friendliness of Angus, the owner, he was so helpful to us. We felt like family guests rather than just holiday makers. The best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the cottage, the sheep, the owner, in fact everything!every tuning
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
It makes running the cottage so rewarding when we here that people have enjoyed their break at Ivy Cottage and they have been able to enjoy the stunning views and day to day life on a working Highland Croft.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain H
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We will definitely be back!”
Reviewed 17 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our short break in this cottage. The cottage was very comfortable, clean, well maintained and well equipped. The welcome basket and Easter eggs for the girls were very thoughtful and much appreciated. Amazing views from all windows and lots of wildlife to enjoy. No one can moan about washing dishes when they can watch red kites from the kitchen window! If you like bird watching this is a great place to be. The girls loved spending time with Angus and the newborn lambs. No one wanted to leave and we are already planning a return visit. There are loads of places to visit and lots of lovely walks to enjoy. Can't wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How comfortable the cottage was and the amazing views
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay at Ivy Cottage and the girls enjoyed helping out in the lambing shed. Shep is still as naughty as ever but looking forward to seeing you all back at Ivy Cottage again !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing