We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating at this hotel has been on my bucket list”

The Summer Isles Bar
Price range: US$17 - US$56
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Over the winter months The Summer Isles Bar is open occasionally. Please check for regular updates on opening times on our website.
Reviewed 13 September 2020 via mobile

Eating at this hotel has been on my bucket list for a number of years and I wasn’t disappointed. A very warm welcome and extremely pleasant staff greeted us. An extensive wine list and a wonderful menu on a wet Sunday evening. The sauces accompanying the langoustine starter and the hake main meal were delicious. The Brownie dessert with melon sorbet was unctuous and refreshing. I hope to visit again.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank simonrG6876SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolly17, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2020

Dear Simon R, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. Being on a bucket list is big pressure! Very pleased to read that we did not disappoint. It is so sad that the bar remains closed in the current climate but nice that we are able to use the area for additional dining capacity. I hope that you are able to return in the not too distant future. Best wishes. Simon Cotton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2019

popped in while at the hotel, good choice, fish was excellent, fair prices as well. Friendly staff, great views of the isles.

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2019

Dear Rob S

Many thanks for this review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your meal. Please pop in again in the future!

Regards

Simon Cotton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2019

We were on a magazine write up for the NC500 and we called in on a lovely day to find the place virtually empty. It is off the beaten track and was surprised its a long way from the sea, certainly not anywhere near the shore. Plus the car park is in front, which rather spoils the view of the sea. Fish soup was very good, however. Hotel prices very very dear.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank norfolkexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2019

Dear Norfolkexpat

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. It's great to read that you enjoyed your fish soup.

One of the key reasons to visit The Summer Isles Hotel is to enjoy the ruggedly beautiful, wild and untouched landscape of the Western Scottish Highlands. We thrive on the peace and tranquillity and we are very happy to be "off the beaten track"! The hotel is renown for breathtaking sea views towards the Summer Isles. We own the croft that leads directly from the hotel to the shore and any guest is most welcome to wander for a "paddle"!

Regards

Simon Cotton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2019

After driving the "Mad Road" (as we were told locals call it) from Lochinver on a driech day, to eat here it didn't disappoint. Great service, delicious food and an unmissable view.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Susie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2019

Dear Susie K

I am very pleased to read that your journey was worthwhile! Actually, the drive is fantastic in almost any weather as long as there is no rush!

Thanks for a great review and we hope that you return in the not too distant future.

Regards

Simon Cotton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2019 via mobile

Old fashioned hotel with a lounge and restaurant room. In the first we had a drink while they were preparing our table. Our dinner was excellent with an amazing view. We appreciate so much the fine cooking level and for this reason prices are higher than average. Dogs are welcome only in the lounge room. Staff was extremely kind.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank FedericoMainardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C, Owner at The Summer Isles Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2019

Dear Fredrico Mainardi

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your dinner at The Summer Isles Bar. This is the second season when dogs have been welcomed into the bar. It has been a popular decision and most of our canine visitors are very well behaved!


Thanks once again.


Simon Cotton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Summer Isles Bar also viewed

Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty
Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty
 
Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty

Been to The Summer Isles Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.