We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful highland retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Your Highland Hideaway
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Highland Hideaway
A very special retreat The secluded garden, with glorious seaviews of the Summer Isles
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Your Highland Hideaway
A very special retreat
The secluded garden, with glorious seaviews of the Summer Isles
The bright eat-in kitchen 1
The bright eat-in kitchen 2
Lovely traditional sitting room 1
Lovely traditional sitting room 2 - Perfect for quiet evenings by the fire
Light-filled Living/Dining room 1
Light filled Living/Dining room 2
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Inviting wood panelled family bathroom
Achiltibuie in the distance
Badentarbet bay....a short stroll from the house
Badentarbet bay with Tanera Mor in the background
Wester Ross mountains in the afternoon light
Nearby Stac Pollaidh - a very satisfying and not too challenging climb
Achnahaird beach - only three miles away
Achnahaird beach - ideal for kite flying
The Summer Isles
The Coigach Peninsula Road
On the road to Achiltibuie
Morning glory
Achiltibuie Post Office
A little gem...
Achilitbuie in Winter...just as magical
Achilitbuie in Winter...just as magical
Achnahaird in February
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Achiltibuie, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
annadewhu...
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A beautiful highland retreat”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We had a divine stay in the wonderfully equipped Loan cottage.
The house was snug, and spacious, wonderfully equipped and utterly charming. The house is slightly set back looking onto the sea which is on your doorstep and turn around you have the rolling hills at the back. There is so much to do, even when the weather is changeable! from long walks to fishing and boating trips round the Summer Isles. This highland retreat is perfect for anyone who loves the fresh air, a cosy well equipped home to return to and a wonderful Scottish holiday. For me The Loan ticks all the boxes. I will be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Perfect Highland Holiday House”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I cannot rate this house more highly; we arrived to stunning views, a very generous welcome package with all the essentials (wine), a folder bursting with info about the area and a fire laid out. The cottage is cosy and well stocked with everything you need, and the new addition of a bright, sunny "day room" makes it perfect for all seasons. Following the instructions from our info pack we called the local postman to arrange a boat trip, dined out on freshly caught scallops at the local pub where we stayed up until the wee hours dancing around the pool table with the fishermen who had caught them! Discussions are already under-way for a return trip next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zingella
Vreeland, The Netherlands
1 review
“loved it”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This was our first time north form Ullapool and probably the nicest, homely and well appointed cottage in the area. Everything was in order .... would have loved to stay for the rest of the summer to explore the stunning surroundings. I'm sure we will do this in the near future knowing now that 'The Loan' is the superb cottage to come home to!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: het gevoel thuis te komen
Liked least: verwarming slaapkamers
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martin A
2 reviews
“Relaxing, well appointed cottage”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We had a lovely relaxing week in this stunning part of the world overlooking the Summer Isles. The cottage is warm and welcoming fitted out with a very high standard of equipment and furniture. The snug sitting room contains a TV but we spent most time dining and relaxing in the modern airy sun room. The local stores are handy and the Hotel is nearby. There is plenty to see in the surrounding area, with an interesting drive to Lochinver up the "Wee mad road".
Very enjoyable stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah L
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most idyllic, comforable and well equiped holiday house with stunning views”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We enjoyed our stay at The Loan enormously and we will definitely be going back. It is perfect place for adults and children with lots to do and the local facilities are fantastic. We took a boat trip around the summer Isles and eat fantastic seafood. Would really recommend this place.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing