We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:30 - 15:30
Save
Review Highlights
nice coffee , worth a look

Nice visitor centre with a great cafe, stopped off whilst visiting locally , child friendly too... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
noimnotsingle
,
Norwich, United Kingdom
Breakfast

Fantastic little cafe at the back. Shame food service was quite limited The Scottish breakfast is... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
angelagL419UR
via mobile
Read all 243 reviews
  
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
71
124
38
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
124
38
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caledonian canal nice coffee educational experience watching the boats loch ness lovely place to stop harris tweed interesting place fun to watch worth a visit tourist trap information boards small town car park gift shop locks history
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 243 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Lovely place in maritime surroundings. We returned to the canal after 23 years, and it still had the same glory. Highly recommended if your`re touring around in Scotland. Recommend to stay over a night.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank 77vidare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018 via mobile

Stopped off for a soup and sandwich whilst passing through on a bike ride. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the centre was full of interesting facts about the construction of the Caledonian canal, and the soup and sandwich were lovely. My only complaint would be the seating area in the back was very hot, but lucky for us there was seating outside. Glad we stopped off.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank MartinJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

The best place to see maps and buy some souvenirs and books about the canal loch system; a real joy to also have ice cream and coffee and nick nacks available. Definitely a must to pop in here; the new modern design makes it a welcome from some of the more simple places around. There are maps and history of the area as well.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank Sfrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

I’ve sailed the Caledonian Canal on four previous occasions over the past twenty years and loved it, it’s been one of the best holidays ever.

I returned in May to receive appalling service by the Loch keepers and a minority even rude. In particular he time taken to get through Lochs was sheer ludicrous. We arrived West side of Fort Augustus on 22nd May at 11am, we were the first to arrive, the board said next pen was 15:15, it was 24 hours before we got to the bottom of the Loch!! Not very good losing an entire day on a three day break.

Similarly at Loch Cullochy, we arrived as the lock keeper went for a 1:30 hour lunch and returned to a go slow. It took us three hours to get through.

I don’t know if there is some kind of industrial action or what but sadly I won’t be returning.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank JonB519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Fort Augustus is a small town. This canal is one of the few things you can see there. I was lucky because a boat just entered the canal and I saw the bridge moving and the locks working

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank 536MarcoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews