We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (520)
Filter reviews
520 results
Traveller rating
312
153
43
9
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
153
43
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haggis adventures pub quiz self catering kitchen quiz night bed dorm stayed here great bar private room adventure tour loch ness chicken stuffed with haggis breakfast and dinner two nights laundry service home cooked common areas boiled eggs
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 520 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on the great glen walk. We were in a very comfortable shared dorm room and had a great sleep. The shower was amazing! We are dinner at the hostel and really enjoyed it, they also gave us a good and reasonably priced packed lunch for the next day. The staff were all incredibly friendly and the whole place was really well run and great at what it does. We would stay again - thanks!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sadiem1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks so much for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear you had a great stay with us and particularly enjoyed our amazing showers! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon :0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

I have book this hostel only because it was half my journey between ferry and Tomintoul. It is a very good surprise. All the advantage of a big hostel. Nice kitchen full equiped, a pub with animation, room ensuite and the staff is so kind and smiling !

Room tip: 5 min to the center of the town and car park in front of the hostel
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillaume N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank-you for your review - we are glad to hear we were a "good surprise" ;0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Good location within Fort Augustus. There is a shop just down the hill which is part of the petrol station. The rooms were clean and comfortable with good charging points and reading lights. Like others have said the toilets were a bit noisy and there is no WIFI in the rooms (if you could sort this then it would be a massive plus!!).

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank urban_fox90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

Thanks for your review! Glad to hear you had a comfy stay. We have rectified our singing loo issue and have been extnding the wifi around our building in stages so eventually there will be full coverage. In the meantime we highly encourage old fashioned face-to-face socialising in our bar ;0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Situated just 2 min walking to the gas station, calm enviorment and very nice views. We stayed in the urquhart's castle room and we have nothing to complaint about. Rooms were clean and nice, bed was confy and service including bfast and night bar was just perfect. The bar keeps open until very late and they won't let you leave without trying one of the single malts they have. Totally recomend as all the staff was also very friendly and it was one of the best prices-quality places we found. Thank you all guys!

Room tip: economic good staff best quality price
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thanks for the awesome review. It's great to hear you liked your room and that you enjoyed a dram in our bar with our friendly team :0) We hope you had a great onward journey!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Had a super time at this hostel. We stayed two nights. Comfy bed. Best I slept in whilst travelling in Scotland. We had en-suite facilities. Only issue was that the toilet for our room was a little noisy...forgot to report it but I'll follow this up with an email to let them know. Good catering facilities. Also took a couple of meals, breakfast and dinner £3 & £8.50 I think. Really good sized portions. Bar was well stocked. Dancing in the bar was encouraged and we also took part in the quiz. We got a lesson from one of the other guides staying in the origins of the kilt. There were families staying too and a mix of ages. Good feel. Good location. Would recommend it.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Wargravian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Manager at Morag's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Great to hear you had a super time - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our meals and bar, and most importantly, had a restful sleep! Thanks for the feedback regarding the loo - we are on it! Thanks for the recommendation and we hope you had a fun onward trip :0)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews