We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Holiday To Remember”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boys Dormitory

View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Aerial view of the Abbey The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Aerial view of the Abbey
The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Antiques throughout the property
Spacious open plan living area
Solid oak kitchen with all modern amenities
Very comfortable sofas for admiring the view of Loch Ness
Antique UK king-sized brass bed
Billiards room and club lounge - the former monks' refectory
Indoor pool in the historic chapel
The abbey cloisters
The view from the window in winter
Loch Ness from the grounds of the monastery, with Boat House restaurant
Gorgeous sunrise over Loch Ness
View of the Boys Dormitory window from the cloisters
Fort Augustus Abbey at dusk
View through the daffodils to the monastery
Stunning architecture of the abbey
View of Boys Dormitory from the gardens
Caledonian Canal at Fort Augustus, built by Thomas Telford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Vicki T
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A Holiday To Remember”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our 5 day break in February was wonderful. The location of the apartment at the bottom of Loch Ness has to be seen to be believed. The view is stunning and pours in through the windows. It's difficult to move from the sumptuous sofas as they are perfectly positioned to 'Loch Watch'. The entire apartment is full of character and the furnishings and attention to detail help to make this a holiday to remember. We would love to return in the Autumn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NettPaul
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very peaceful and idyllic, lives up to expectations, stunning.”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We stayed the end of Jan/Feb 2014 for 4 nights, just wished we had booked longer, it makes a pleasant change to arrive on your break and find everything is just like the pictures. We felt at home the minute we arrived. I would fully recommend this stay . The owner's take pride in ensuring your stay will be all that you want. Right down to the find detail in the booklet you receive filled with all you need to know for your stay. This trip will become an annual vacation for us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joolsy284
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite simply the best holiday let I've stayed at in Scotland”
Reviewed 18 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Often you hire a holiday let and when you get there it is a bit of a disappointment and doesn't quite match up to how it was described to you... the Boys Dormitory is the opposite - its looks fantastic on the website and it is even better when you get there.
A beautifully furnished apartment - spotlessly clean, warm and cosy with everything you could wish for. The view from the lounge area is absolutely stunning - it was magical sitting in the huge mullioned window area gazing down Loch Ness.
The bed was roomy, soft and comfy and the bathroom fabulous and how lovely to be supplied with bathrobes for your stay.
The Abbey itself has plenty to keep you occupied and I particularly enjoyed swimming everyday in the pool in the converted chapel - again so unique.
Cannot recommend this place enough - I will certainly be booking again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words! We work hard to make the Boys Dormitory a peaceful, luxurious retreat, and it's one of our favourite places in the world. I'm so glad you enjoyed it too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley H
Harpenden, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“I don't won't to leave.......”
Reviewed 5 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

I am lucky enough to have stayed in some of the best hotels in the UK but this apartment ( The Boys Dormitory) and area has captured my heart. My fiancé and I decided we would book 3 nights but we loved it so much that we booked an extra night and if I'm honest that still wasn't enough!! Charles and Pebble were great and made us feel so welcome we are already planning our next visit. The views from our apartment were fabulous and you don't even need to leave if you don't want too but you won't be disappointed if you do.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaela...
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“At the end of our stay, we felt like leaving "home"”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

After a wonderful week in the Boys Dormitory, we took a lot of fantastic memories with us ... and felt, like we had left "home".

What can we say .... it's absoluteley marvelous and we could see, that the owners laid their hearts in this place and put lovely details and furnitures in it. We felt very comfortable and we are sure not to be the first guests, who wished, they could own such a wonderful place.

We totally agree to the positive reviews, and like to point out, the brocure respectively the booklet, given by the owners, which we found very helpful.

To give you a short review of the booklet: We indeed made our way from Fort William to Mallaig with the Jacobite Steam Train, as suggested, and we loved it ... we visisted Dunrobin Castle ... and although we already knew the one or another suggestion, it was nice and helpful to have had such a good compedium, above all the fact, that we found a few things, that we will plan for 2014 ... we are absolutely looking forward ... ;-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view to Loch Ness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing