We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"All new" but still the classiest act in The Highlands!!”

Links House at Royal Dornoch
Ranked #6 of 19 Restaurants in Dornoch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$76 - US$76
Description: The Orangerie restaurant at Links House Hotel, a 5 star country house hotel. We offer a fine dining dinner menu with 3 options for each course. We are a small business and use only local seasonal fresh produce, we will always do our best to take bookings on the day but we cannot always guarantee this . We also offer afternoon tea and Sunday lunches in April, October, November and December. Dinner includes an appetiser and is served March - December 6.30 - 9.30pm Other months - 6.30 - 8.30pm Reservations essential
Restaurant details
Description: The Orangerie restaurant at Links House Hotel, a 5 star country house hotel. We offer a fine dining dinner menu with 3 options for each course. We are a small business and use only local seasonal fresh produce, we will always do our best to take bookings on the day but we cannot always guarantee this . We also offer afternoon tea and Sunday lunches in April, October, November and December. Dinner includes an appetiser and is served March - December 6.30 - 9.30pm Other months - 6.30 - 8.30pm Reservations essential
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Links House is a class act-it must be the best in the Highlands- and as locals we can't wait for it to open each season. New Chef (JP is a hard act to follow)new menus and some new faces front of house-and this was their opening night.
Big changes to the dining room-everything very tasteful,more room but still cozy.
Lots of opportunity for things to go wrong..no need to worry!
Flawless service and amazing food-love your new Spanish Chef!
We had the tasting menu and it did not disappoint.
Good luck this season Links House Team!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brummyboy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scjs, Public Relations Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much Brummyboy1969 for your great review. We also look forward to the opening each season and are glad you do too. Do come back and see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Booked a table for dinner with my husband. From the moment we arrived, enjoying a glass of champagne in front of the fire to the very end it was a wonderful night. The food was amazing and the 2 people on duty got it just right. Real attention to detail and very welcoming. I can’t and don’t want to find fault with this. Good value for money as well. Will definitely return.

Thank bordeaux35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scjs, Public Relations Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We do hope to see you back at Links House during 2018!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

Visited this restaurant as a non resident. Booked our table for 6.30 pm. When we arrived it was not clear where to park or where the restaurant actually was. We found it eventually but parked in the golf club car park rather than the restaurant car park. No problem and when we walked into reception no one asked our name but took us straight through to the lovely seating area next to a roaring log fire, perfect. Lovely waiter extremely friendly and attentive and not to intrusive. Handed menus and all looked lovely approx three choices for each course but no price listed anywhere and no explanation as to how the menu worked what was or was not included. I only knew the cost from looking at trip advisor 58.00 per head which was fine but if you don’t use trip advisor you would have no idea of price and you should not have to ask. In any event we ordered wine and chose our menu choices. We the received two canapés each which were lovely but served in a huge pudding type bowl, way too big for the canapés not great presentation. We were then taken through to the restaurant. Lovely ambience and great large tables. We were offered home made warm rolls of different flavours and three choices of butter, all gorgeous. Starters of steak tartare and lobster bisque gorgeous. A mixed leaf salad followed and then main courses of venison which was great just perfect. We were offered still and sparkling water which were served from bottles and kept behind a small bar in the restaurant. Desserts not my favourite but well presented. We were then offered coffee again no explanation if included in set menu or not and we retired to the cosy seating area we sat in initially. The coffee was average, nothing special and just as we finished some chocolates arrived, again served in a huge pudding bowl. It would have been better to serve the chocolates with the coffee not after. We were then unsure how to get our bill and eventually got some attention and requested our bill and also asked for the remainder of our wine as there was over half a bottle left as we had hardly touched it. The waitress did not seem keen to bring the wine but arrived quickly with the bill and card machine. I have to say we were shocked to be charged 8.00 for water as this was certainly not made clear on ordering. I must make it clear it is not the cost at all but transparency to customers is key and we should have been told that coffee, water not included but chocolates, canapés and salad intermediary was. Very confusing. Again we had to ask for our wine which was embarrassing and not what we expected. It took the shine off an otherwise fabulous night. Don’t expect customers to know what the score is a simple explanation would suffice. When I spend 170 pounds on a meal for two I expect impeccable service, food and overall experience which we did not get. The food however was great.

Thank Lorraine765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scjs, Public Relations Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Lorraine, Many thanks for your review and helpful comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and have passed your compliments to our Chef. We appreciate your feedback and will make changes where required. We do hope that you will return to Links House in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

Came here for birthday treat. From the moment you go in the front door until you leave it is so special!
Food and presentation is so amazing, a class above , the whole theatre of the evening is so wonderful. Will go more often!
Cannot get any better than this!
Great menu , use of local available food is good to see, chef has moved this venue to a must visit in Dornoch which for its size has got some truly great places to eat and drink.
Happy to live here!

Thank sandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scjs, Public Relations Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thank you for your review Sandy. We would love to see you at Links House again in 2018...and you could always make a night of it and stay! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017 via mobile

Just had the most fantastic meal and evening I have ever had. The whole experience from start to finish was unbelievably amazing. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough. Absolutely fantastic

1  Thank GTriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scjs, Public Relations Manager at Links House at Royal Dornoch, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

What a wonderful review - thank you so much. Your comments have been passed to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to Links House in 2018. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Links House at Royal Dornoch also viewed

Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
Dornoch, Caithness and Sutherland
 

Been to Links House at Royal Dornoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing