We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gardener's Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Gardener's Cottage - Sleeps 4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Gardener's Cottage - Sleeps 4
Hallway
Fully-equipped kitchen
Private garden including garden furniture and barbecue
Roe deer at the Gardener's Cottage
Deer on the hill above the cottage
The Roman Bridge - 3 minutes walk from the cottage
View from a walk on the hill down into Glen Lyon and the cottage
The River Lyon - fishing can be booked in season at additional cost
Walking on a hill above the cottage
View of Glen Lyon
Fishing is available on the river
Fishing is available on the river
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Glen Lyon, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Angus R
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful and Comfortable”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is perfect if you are looking for a quiet hideaway . Some good walking nearby and magnificent views.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Dear Angus. Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your time on South Chesthill Estate. Thank you for being perfect guests. Kindest regards. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingfishe...
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Feels like coming home”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in October 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This Is the second time we’ve been to The Gardeners Cottage, and we loved it as much as the first time. You really couldn’t ask for a better location.
Once you leave the main road and have negotiated the twisty turns along Glen Lyon, the cottage is set back off the road via a very it’s own track. It may look small from the outside but inside is everything you need, two good sizes bedrooms, a large living/dining room, main bathroom, ensuite and a well equipped kitchen.
Kay and Hamish are the perfect hosts, expect at least one visit and expect to be treated like extended family.
Who knows, we may be back again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Dear Andy. Thank you so much for your review. I have passed your comments onto Hamish and Kay. We look forward to welcoming you back some time in the future. Kindest regards. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreaSco...
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“a "deer" little cottage”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

arrived the Gardeners cottage on Chesthill estate no problem, beware the single track road out of Fortingall, especially if they are logging? We just took one long deep breath, and relaxed immediately. Cottage is roomy, with two well maintained bathrooms (and a bath!), so easy in the mornings! Good sized kitchen, well stocked for self catering, washing machine too, and a lovely dining area in a warm and cosy living room. A warm welcome by Kay and Hamish made us feel at home. We had deer EVERY day either in the garden or the fields in front of the house. Cottage is well situated for exploring Glen Lyon, and good range of walks around. We would definitely recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: single track roads
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Waking up to deer in the garden is something special to remember. Hopefully you may return again some time. Kindest regards. Debbie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magnificent Sport”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

With a team of four we came to South Chesthill for the tail end of the Hind season, and stayed in Gardener's Cottage for 4 nights, being brilliantly looked after by Hamish and Kay.

We were blessed with stunning blue skies and snow on the high peaks, and Hamish presented the estate and the Deer beautifully in what were fairly challenging conditions with long shadows and swirling breezes on the tops. The Deer were in very good condition and Hamish did an excellent job of moving the team around the hill.

Gardener's Cottage was lovely, with everything we needed in situ, and the cottage in a truly lovely spot. We were put in touch with a cook for our trip and that worked out very well indeed.

All highly recommended for a super sporting trip to a glorious spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: I suspect a drying facility for Stalking parties might be useful! (We were very lucky indeed!)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen h
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gardeners Cottage, Chesthill Estate”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Steve and I went to Gardeners Cottage in June last year and we are still reminiscing about the wonderful time we had and also met some wonderful people; thank you again Hamish and Kay for you hospitality and help during our stay.
It was fantastic to wake up to deer in the garden and in the surrounding fields.
Steve caught two Salmon on the Monday, again Hamish's guidance and advice helped with his vast knowledge of the river.
Thank you all very much for a great holiday, did not want to leave, see you soon :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to seeing you both again soon :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing