We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great small distillery experience”

The Famous Grouse Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$57,02*
and up
Highland Whisky Woodland and Braveheart Tour from...
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Crieff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Scotland's Oldest Working Distillery Recently named Whisky Visitor Attraction of the Year, Scotland's oldest working distillery offers a truly unique and authentic experience to visitors. Set in the heart of Perthshire, the distillery is only an hour from Glasgow and Edinburgh.  Making whisky by hand and by heart since 1775, visitors will experience the traditional handmade distilling processes that have been used to craft the whiskies at Glenturret Distillery for generations. Discover how the distillery's Glenturret single malt is carefully blended with other grain and malt whiskies to create the UK's No.1 whisky, The Famous Grouse.  Choose from a range of tour experiences. Sample a selection of fine whiskies in our Tasting Experience, enjoy exclusive entry to our bonded warehouses in the Warehouse Experience and blend your own whisky during an in-depth Blending Experience.  Taste our best in the newly launched Wilde Thyme at Glenturret cafe and restaurant where you will savour mouth-watering dishes created using local, seasonal ingredients including Strathearn Pie, a special dish created in honour of the recent Royal Visit of the Duke and Duchess of Cambridge.  And be sure to visit our unique and welcoming shop. We stock a full range of superb single malts and blended whiskies including distillery exclusives such as the Bottle Your Own Glenturret single malt which you can bottle straight from the cask. Whether you are looking for a unique distillery tour, a very special warehouse experience, or even the opportunity to blend your own whisky, Glenturret is the only distillery in Scotland able to offer a truly authentic, traditional whisky making experience. 
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent a week in Scotland and wanted to visit a couple of whisky distilleries. The Famous Grouse was our first distillery experience and we ended up having a private tour since nobody else signed up for the 10:30am tour.
Our guide was very passionate about everything and answered all our questions. It was great to see how they still do a lot with their own hands and are very knowledgeable about what they do.
In addition to the regular tour I also booked a tasting of 3 additional whiskies and it was an interesting experience to learn everything about the single malt and blended scotch whiskies. Their store is very nice as well.

1  Thank Penguin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Penguin85

Many thanks for leaving a review, we are extremely pleased to hear that you were lucky enough to receive a private tour at 10.30am. All of our Hosts are so very passionate about the products and history they are fortunate to be able to share with all of our guests on a daily basis.
The Tasting Experiences are a very popular choice with the visitors and we are so glad that you were able experience the tour and all the knowledge which is shared, along with the gorgeous tasting whiskies.
A nice start to the day!!

Kind regards
Mandy Ingram
Visitor Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"glenturret distillery"
in 85 reviews
"glen turret"
in 34 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 74 reviews
"glenturret single malt"
in 25 reviews
"great tour"
in 62 reviews
"whisky experience"
in 11 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 70 reviews
"blended whisky"
in 21 reviews
"gift shop"
in 53 reviews
"working distillery"
in 27 reviews
"basic tour"
in 16 reviews
"haggis"
in 14 reviews
"whisky making process"
in 18 reviews
"whisky drinkers"
in 15 reviews
"take away"
in 16 reviews
"crieff hydro"
in 14 reviews
"cafe restaurant"
in 11 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 1 169 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were spending a few days in Crieff and saw a signpost for Glenturret distillery so decided to spend some time there. The Glenturret signs disappeared so we followed the Famous Grouse Experience signs instead. Needn't have worried, there are one and the same!
Great tour of this small distillery. Friendly staff and guide. Everything was done by hand, no stirring machinery here just manual paddles.
Sampling was as you would expect with a minimum of 2 tastings.
This is well worth it.

Thank ZoltanPeppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello ZoltanPeppa

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to the Famous Grouse Experience.
Yes, we are extremely fortunate to be able to offer our guests the chance to learn about the traditional methods of whisky production within the Glenturret distillery, whilst at the same time extending their knowledge on The Famous Grouse Brand and it's very important place in whisky History.
We hope you enjoyed your 2 complimentary whiskies.

Kind regards
Mandy Ingram
Visitor Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited this distillery and went on the tour. This is a very knowledgeable and pleasant, educational tour. It lasts around 30 minutes and is well worth going on it.

Thank Normieb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Normieb41

Thank you for your recent feedback after visiting The Famous Grouse Experience.
We are so very pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Mandy Ingram
Visitor Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fabulous time on the distillery tour. Amy was a fantastic guide, very knowledgeable and answered all questions comprehensively. She was particularly kind to our Mum who was celebrating her birthday and made her day extra special.
After the tour we enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea in the restaurant. Great view out onto the woods and friendly service from the waiter. Mum was delighted with her birthday cake, thank you all for a wonderful experience.

Thank tiran2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello tiran2016

We are all very pleased to hear that your Mum enjoyed her Birthday treat recently. So lovely to know that her day was made extra special by one of our staff members.
The catering team will also be thrilled to your feedback about the yummy Afternoon Tea and Birthday Cake. Hopefully your Mum was able to enjoy a wee dram to celebrate.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
Mandy Ingram
Visitor Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Gemma was an excellent tour guide on an enjoyable and informative tour of Glenturrett whisky distillery. Well worth a visit. And even better that we walked here from Crieff so could enjoy the “wee drams”.

Thank SarahandGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TFG_Experience, Manager at The Famous Grouse Experience, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello SarahandGraham

Thank you for your lovely response to visiting The Famous Grouse Experience, Gemma is thrilled to hear you enjoyed her tour. Being able to enjoy the drams on site and taking a nice leisurely stroll back to Crieff is the perfect experience.

We hope to see you both again soon.

Kind regards
Mandy Ingram
Visitor Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Famous Grouse Experience also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Famous Grouse Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing