We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in stunning countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cindy P
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation in stunning countryside”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our Christmas holiday week at Glengoulandie was most memorable! Our family of four had a very enjoyable, relaxing time complete with snow on Christmas Eve and a white Christmas morning. A week was too short to enjoy everything the lodges & surrounding area have to offer - we would love to return for much longer! It was a pleasure to arrive at Rainbow Lodge and well worth the long drive up from Oxfordshire. Russell's excellent directions and travel advice were really helpful and on arrival Rainbow Lodge was very welcoming thanks to Russell & Sandy's thoughtful personal touches & attention to detail: we were greeted by warmth, Christmas lights and a lovely gift box packed full of treats! Rainbow Lodge has beautiful views, is very well-maintained & decorated, very clean, spacious, good quality furnishings & bedding, comfortable beds & excellent bathrooms. It is one of the best places we have stayed at in the UK. The surrounding countryside is stunning - we enjoyed an amazing walk at Schiehallion in bright sunshine surrounded by snowy mountains - Glengoulandie is ideally situated within reach of all the beautiful and interesting places Scotland has to offer - we even drove to Ben Nevis through stunning Glencoe and were back before supper! we would definitely recommend Rainbow Lodge to everyone. Thanks Sandy & Russell for your friendliness & hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Hi Cindy, Craig and the boys, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write and submit your wonderful review. It is very much appreciated and It really helps us to know what you appreciated about the Lodge and that we were able to get your holiday off to such a great start. Having stayed originally here ourselves as guests and then to end up taking over the business, we wish to continue running the Lodges from a guest's perspective. We would be delighted to accommodate you all once again and we look forward to your return. One of the great benefits of this business is meeting great people like yourselves! do keep in touch, Kind Regards, Russell and Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda Y
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very relaxing break in a wonderful lochside lodge”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We are a family of five (children aged 15, 13, 11) and chose this property because of its quiet setting on the water. Having read previous reviews we were really looking forward to our stay. We were not disappointed. The property is immaculate, the cleanest self catering property we have ever stayed in. It is beautifully decorated with a comfortable sitting room, TV, DVDs and games. The kitchen has everything you could need - a real home from home. The three bedrooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable, each with its own bathroom. Our three children loved this property too, so much so that we have booked another 6 days in August. Russell, the owner, couldn't have been more helpful, with helpful tips on local eateries and things to do. On arrival, there was milk in the fridge, tea, coffee and beautiful homemade shortbread which was a really nice touch. Thank you Russell and Sandy, we will recommend to all our friends.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Dear Brenda and Family, We are really delighted to have received your review and thank you very much for such wonderful comments. It was super to receive your return summer booking, I guess before you even had a chance to unpack the car :-) Sandy and I have thoroughly enjoyed our first year as hosts and we enjoy making our Families' stay a comfortable and happy experience. We welcome your feedback and your returned summer booking shows that you really enjoyed the area and the quality we aim to provide at our Lodges. The summer time here is magical with amazing colours and light with sunsets that go on until late into the evening. We are encouraging all our Guests to visit our new website, as we have included a comprehensive photo collection of our Lodges and surrounding area throughout the four seasons. Thank you once again and we look forward to your return in the summer. Best wishes Russell & Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G
middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing lodge with Amazing view”
Reviewed 5 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

When we first entered Rainbow Lodge the first thing that caught our attention was the amazing view over the lochan with deer in the fields opposite. In fact most of our time in lodge was spent looking out at the amazing view and watching the deer and many birds on the lochan and the amazing stars at night.

There was a lovely welcome pack with homemade shortbread from the owners Russel and Sandy. The lodge was beautifully decorated with three large bedrooms all with their own large bathroom. It was very clean and lovely and warm at all times and equipped with everything you could need for your stay. Russel and Sandy contacted us to make sure we had everything we needed and to offer their help with any local information we may need.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lodge to family and friends.

Thank you Russel and Sandy we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Dear Angela & Family, We are both delighted to have received your super review. Thank you very much for all your really lovely comments. Both Sandy and I have both travelled extensively ourselves and know how important it is to be able to walk into a warm, comfortable and clean retreat 'away from it all' :-) We would be delighted to welcome you back at some point in the near future. Kind Regards, Russell & Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SSinclair...
Inverurie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Magical and fabulous”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This is a truly picturesque and luxurious cabin overlooking the water. There were red deer on the hills opposite, fish jumping in the water and beautiful birds hoovering around. We had a lovely four days stay whilst attending the European championships at Blair . When we arrived there were lots of e try touches like milk in the fridge, biscuits tea and coffee. The accommodation was outstanding and very clean and tidy. Fabulous showers and cosy accommodation. A must for those who love creature comforts and peaceful locations. Can't wait to go back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: We loved every thing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Hi Sharron,
Thank you so much for your great review! We are delighted you enjoyed the Lodge and that you were able to relax, be warm, cosy and unwind fully. We look forward to having you all back at some point. Best wishes Russell & Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathryn L
Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great place to recharge the batteries!”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I stayed at Rainbow Lodge with my husband and our 2 teenagers. We all loved it. The lodge is stylishly decorated, warm and comfy, with a good selection of games and DVDs should the weather hamper any outdoor plans. However for me the view from the lodge over the lochan was great enetertainment. Jumping fish, squabbling ducks, swooping swallows and the comings and goings of the sheep and deer on the hill, all wonderful food for the soul. A hike up Schiehallion, a trip to the Watermill in Aberfeldy and the Crannog Centre on Loch Tay, all within 15 minutes drive from Glengoulandie make Rainbow Lodge a great base for the area.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Aug 2015
Hi Kathryn,
The wonderful view will always be here waiting for you to enjoy and we look forward to having you all return at some point. Thank you very much for your review. Kind Regards, Russell & Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing