We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal with fantastic views.”
Review of Haylie

Haylie
Ranked #20 of 50 Restaurants in Largs
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 3 June 2018

We went here for our 40th wedding anniversary meal and must say it was really nice, it was a lovely evening weatherwise so had a lovely view while enjoying a lovely meal.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Had our first visit here after a recommendation. Got a table in the bay window with nice views over the water. It’s quite old fashioned inside and very red but has character. The “background” music was a little loud, mainly jazz and playing on a loop so kept hearing the same songs over and over again which was annoying.
We were given our menus and told we’d be brought the 2 course special menu (why we weren’t given them along with the regular menu is beyond me) but this arrived after a long wait. In fact, the service was painfully slow the whole night. It took ages for our main order to be taken then even longer to order the dessert (had to ask waiter to take our order after a 20 minute wait). We waited far too long for our bill and had to ask twice for it. The 4 staff members were very young and no one seemed to be in charge or to oversee them. They were very friendly but not attentive so this seriously let them down and I just felt frustrated when it should have been an enjoyable night. The food was very good. The potato skins were nice for starters. The lasagne and chicken supreme were very nice but the chips were on the hard side.
Overall, lovely food (special menu good value, regular menu a bit pricey) but the day we were there, the service was poor. Not sure if we’ll be back.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank Sandancer77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Three of us went to the Haylie restaurant as they accommodate vegan cooking and the place was recommended by an ex Largs resident. We were very impressed. The menu is good and the food descriptions perfect. The service from a young team was exemplary even taking the trouble to find things out from the chef. My beef Wellington was perfection cooked rare, as I like it and the home made puddings mouth watering. The vegan food was declared delicious. Plus, the view from the table was great. I am very glad we came here, and what a great way to celebrate another FA cup triumph.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank stewartwwalt0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Popped in for an evening meal mid week thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. The waitress was attentive and the meals came out very quickly. We both enjoyed our 3 courses, the size of the portions and the quality of ingredients lived up to my expeditions. The decor is a bit ‘old fashioned’ however this did not detract from a pleasant evening meal out. I’ll more than likely return back and try another item from their menu.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Faroque H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

After two excellent meals in the restaurant we will be returning on a regular basis. The atmosphere is warm and relaxing and the staff are always on hand to help. The food is of an extremely high standard from starters, main meals, to desserts with an excellent choice on the menu.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank yanni_j_kos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haylie also viewed

Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 
Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 
Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 

Been to Haylie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing