We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bar”
Review of The George

The George
Ranked #7 of 50 Restaurants in Largs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

We went here a couple of times why we were in Largs. The service was great and the beer was nice and cold. Will go again.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank twhitefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

I cannot go past this place when in Largs ! excellent place , service is brilliant and so attentive and always smiling, we had chicken and haggis, lovely, the George is always busy and that speaks for itself

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank ConB52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

We both have visited this restaurant / public house many times while staying in the area, whether for a beer, food, or both, can honestly say the food always tastes the same, fresh, tasty, hot, vegetables always cooked to perfection, decor clean but bland, not cosy comfy,toilets possibly requiting an upgrade, however as far as the food is concerned we both would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone wanting food while in the area, staff we have always found pleasant and attentive.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Went for a day out to largs & went in to the george for some drinks after finishing our drinks we asked if we could reserve a table as we noticed some nice food coming from the kitchen unfortunately they dont take reservations but we went back later & got a table i ordered prawn cocktail then scampi & chips my mum the chicken gougons with chips & my sister the fish & chips portions were ideal & at £38.60 inc drinks well worth it will be returning again soon.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank tony3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Oops, saw the sign outside "THE GEORGE 17.19", and thought that that was when it was established. Turns out it is the street numbers 17 - 19 Main St - doh!!!

Had the steak and sausage pie which was very tasty (but only 1 miserly little piece of sausage).

A popular lunch time haunt and busy, which when you consider the number of Largs eateries must be a good sign.

The waitresses were very quick and attentive, and they had background muzak featuring mostly songs from the 60's - great!!!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnnymac2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George also viewed

Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 
Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 
Largs, North Ayrshire
Largs, North Ayrshire
 

Been to The George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing