We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stylish, comfortable accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Willowbarn Rafford

Exterior Willowbarn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior Willowbarn
First Visitors of 2014 Kitchen Dining Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Exterior Willowbarn
First Visitors of 2014
Kitchen Dining Area
Kitchen
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom En-Suite
Twin bedded Room
Main Bathroom
Lounge kitchen
Lounge
Lounge
Aerial view of grounds
Especially for taking our younger guests for a cycle in Moray
Bike selection at Willowbarn, free usage for our guests
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Forres, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Stylish, comfortable accomodation”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very peaceful location, close to Forres. Great beaches & other walks close by, excellent cycling opportunities on or off-road. Willow Barn is a first floor apartment above garages, very spacious and airy, decorated & furnished to a very high standard. Pet friendly. One of the best holiday rentals we have ever used!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2017
Thank you for your positive review, we take great pleasure , when our guests enjoy Willowbarn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth B
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic find, comfortable, spacious and welcoming”
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just left Willowbarn after a relaxing stay visiting the area. The barn is well-equipped with plenty of space for a family of four. Fiona and Carlo were welcoming and we appreciated little touches like choccies for the kids, a well stocked nespresso machine and wine for the first night.

We took advantage of the bikes being available and the kids enjoyed a short bike ride along the Dava way to Forres for coffee and cake, you could even go for one of the Miele's famous ice creams! We hope to go back another time as there is loads to do.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2017
Thank you for your review. We are always delighted when our guests have a lovely time. Hope to see you all again at Willowbarn. Carlo and Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelopo...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Having stayed at many types of accommodation for work and holidays over many years I have never come across more considerate or flexible hosts than Carlo and Fiona. The Willowbarn was well appointed and very comfortable. Our teenage daughter loved her bedroom and separate bathroom and is looking forward to staying again as are my wife and I. If I win the Lottery I will try and make Carlo and Fiona an offer they can't refuse as it would be a lovely place to live rather than just experience. We stayed 16 nights and were not ready to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & Hosts.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We enjoyed you staying at Willowbarn and very much hope to see you return for another visit. Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nedkelly2...
Expat in Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You will definitely go back!”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in October 2015

We have stayed at Carlo and Fiona's place a few times now but I keep forgetting to write a review! Well I'm writing it now as we are going back again in May and we already know we will get a great welcome and the accommodation is beyond reproach. The location is very private with an abundance of river and forest walks right outside the door. 2 very adorable dogs who will run all day so long as you have the energy to keep throwing the ball! Facilities are great with the usual WiFi access for those needing to keep in touch with the world and bicycles for the more outgoing types and even a gas BBQ for those warm summer evenings. There is so much to see and do in the area and if you don't want to get up and cook breakfast then there are some great little coffee shops in the local areas of Forres, Findhorn and Nairn all within 10 minutes drive. Willowbarn is fantastic place to stay for the Whiskey trail also with some famous distilleries only a stones throw away. But, if it is peace and quiet you seek then Willowbarn has it in spades with 12 acres or so of private grounds to immerse yourself in with just the wildlife for company. Once you have stayed at Willowbarn I think you will find yourself booking your next visit before you have finished your current one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every facet was well catered for, accommodation, facilities, location etc
Liked least: Leaving !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments. We do love having you stay with us and hopefully will see you again soon. Kessy and Skye send their love too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des765
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic setting, accommodation & hugely welcoming hosts – great holiday.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This place is a gem of a find. The standard of the accomodation would test the standards of many "high class" hotels. The location is superb, peaceful & tranquil and an ideal base location for places from Loch Ness to Elgin & beyond.

The setting was a joy for our children as they had huge space to run free in a very safe and secure environment, and we had the choice of going to a different beach each day.

And praise for our hosts is a must too. Nothing was ever a problem. The phrase "heart-warmingly good people" springs to mind.

The ultimate question ... Would I like to return? For me it is a no-brainer ... most definitely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are so glad you all enjoyed Willowbarn and hope to welcome you all back again.

Fiona and Carlo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing