We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of America Cottage

America Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
America Cottage
Across the Pond The Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
America Cottage
Across the Pond
The Garden
Across the Bridge
Lounge looking North West
Lounge looking South West
Lounge looking North
Lounge with open fire
Lounge with open fire
Kitchen looking North
Kitchen looking North
Kitchen looking North
Bathroom
Homemade shortbread
Bedroom
Bedroom looking South
Bedroom looking South
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Forres, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FrankG49A...
Accrington
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for a week 17th -24th May 2014.Heather texted us whilst we were on route to say the cottage would be available from 12 p.m. Would have liked to talk to them, but they were going away until Friday night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and comfort of the rooms. Not far from Chanonry point were we went to see the dolphins.
Liked least: The garden wasn't as secure as we expected. One morning the postman turned up driving fast up the drive and our dog thought
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolinea...
Thurso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful rural cottage in beautiful gardens”
Reviewed 15 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Many thanks to Heather and Stu for a lovely week in America Cottage. The gardens are delightful, and the setting is so relaxing - listening to the birds and watching the deer grazing in the fields. The cottage is very comfortable with everything one could want for a self-catering week - tea and homemade shortbread waiting for us (yum!).
It is also ideally placed for the popular tourist attractions of Moray, Inverness and The Cairngorms - Culloden, Fort George, Loch Garten and much more.
Billy the dog was made most welcome too. A super let at a reasonable price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and rural privacy
Liked least: Open access to lane (exuberant young dog had to be on leash , but we knew that was the case when we booked).
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasia W
Heijen, The Netherlands
1 review
“Oasis of peace and tranquility at the sunny Moray coast”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

It’s been such a rich, lovely time at America Cottage. I have witnessed an extensive period of very un-Scottish dry, beautiful weather with lots of sunshine and very few clouded days. That has certainly contributed to the comfort I’ve felt at the cottage but most of the credits go to Heather and Stu for their warm hospitality, care and involvement to make my stay here an unforgettable one.

The cottage itself presents the visitor with a high level of comfort and well-being. There is everything one might need to make himself/herself at home here. And if you need anything, just ask Heather or Stu and they will go to great lenght to assit you. I enjoyed the evenings at fireplace, and breakfast in the sunshine outdoors. Warm and cosy bed has guaranteed good night’s rest and on the cold nights the electric blanket underneath has kept me comfortable.

The garden area is immaculately kept. Seeing it burst into life in the spring is an unexpected holiday extra. There is an abundance of wildlife to watch around the cottage. I've seen roe deer, pheasants, woodcocks, squirrels and lots of different singing birds species. Ghost, the dog, has found a new job here guarding all residents and ‘his’ extensive territory.

The hosts can provide you with lots of information about the walks and places to visit in the surroundings which are definately worth exploring as they are active outdoor couple as well :)

What else to say? I’ve felt truly welcome and pampered.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cottage offers lots of privacy but I appreciated contact with the owners
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mimi r
glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with my partner and my small dog and we could not have been more satisfied with our stay. The owners have really put thought into everything and really have your comfort in mind. Your every need is catered for.
The area is spectacular and the cottage was a delight to come back to in the evenings. I miss America cottage so much... :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy09Sc...
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I am a single mother and stayed for one week at the cottage with my 16 year old daughter and a very hyperactive border collie!.
We found the cottage easily, the garden was beautiful and we had a 360' view, the sun shone to well after 7.30pm and we ate dinner outside. The garden was enclosed which meant our dog could run around. The cottage had everything and more, there was tea, coffee and milk on arrival, fresh flowers and home made shortbread.
There were DVD,s to watch in the evenings as well as free view tv, the cottage was very well equipped, there was a lot of thought put into it. Towels and bedding were of good quality.
The owners were lovely and really helpful, I was glad to have them close by. But they never invaded our space.
We went lots of walks in the local area and went to Loch Ness and Lossiemouth beach, which was beautiful. Cullen is worth a visit and other local beaches, we also went into Inverness and visited the battlefield of Culloden, and went to the dolphin centre, it was a lovely area and would recommend the area, the cottage was so tranquil and lovely to return to at night, we noticed other guests couldn,t get on the internet, however we could in the living room at the front window.
The local neighbours were really friendly and also helpful, would definitely return to "America Cottage" and would recommend it. Only suggestion would be a visitors book, to give the cottage a history of its guests and their adventures!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and peacefulness.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. We do our best to make the cottage as comfortable as possible, and to make our visitors feel at home, so they can enjoy the beautiful surroundings. We’re glad that you enjoyed your holiday, and hope to see you again (we’ll have a visitors’ book by then)!
Heather
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing