We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house with fantastic views”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
View towards Holy Isle
View from garden
Pladda and Ailsa Craig
Bathroom with bath and shower over
Glenashdale Falls
Whiting Bay beach
Arran
Glenashdale Falls in autumn
Ben Nuis
Glen Catacol
Lochranza sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lamlash, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rebekah Y
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing house with fantastic views”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

I've stayed at Alt Ardoch Cottage twice now. It's such a great home from home. The bedrooms and living room are very cosy with some great artwork in each room. There are amazing views of the Holy Isle from upstairs! As you walk into the kitchen through the front door there is a large map of Arran on the wall. This was so useful to have when planning the day ahead!

The kitchen is well equipped with everything you could possibly need - Including a washing machine which is very handy when you've been walking in the mountains everyday! The jacuzzi bath is also just what's needed after a long walk, very relaxing. Also, the shower is great too as it's quite powerful and nice and warm.

If you like bird watching and visit Arran for the wildlife, there's also plenty of garden birds around the cottage. I spent many hours watching the birds coming and going. Next door also have rabbits roaming around their garden.

The location of the cottage is great too. Not too far away from Brodick, the centre of Arran where the shops and ferry are. Also very close to Whiting bay which has more shops and cafe's. We've also discovered many walks near the house which meant we didn't need to use the car as much.

I will definitely be back to Alt Ardoch again, no doubt about that!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill C
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A home from home, and a little bit more.”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My husband entered the Arran half Iron Man competition taking place in Lamlash in June '15 and so we decided to have a week's holiday while we were there. After having a look for accommodation online and reading the reviews, we chose to stay at Alt Ardoch Cottage for the week. The photos online really do it justice as we were not disappointed in the slightest. If anything we were amazed at how spacious the cottage was. We had requested a travel cot and high chair for our 2 year old and both were satisfactory for him to use. The beds were very comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped with washer/dryer and dishwasher. Crockery, cutlery, kids plates, oven dishes, pots and pans were all there. There wasn't anything we thought 'oh could have done with that'. The living room situated on the first floor was lovely with the views out to the Holy Isle. With it being mid summer we never shut the curtains and watched the night sky fall every evening. It was so peaceful. We didn't walk from the cottage to the village as the path down is a few 100 meters along the road. Although it's not a busy road it's not ideal for walking with the buggy. It was fine though if you are just popping out for a run or a walk and taking care when traffic is passing. We travelled around the island by car stopping off for walks, picnics and the swings. I would definitely not hesitate to book this accommodation again and highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in the area. Ideal for a couple, two couples, family with two children/infants. The gardens are lovely and the views are breathtaking. Can't wait to go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage, tastefully and comfortably furnished”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We have just returned from a week in Alt Ardoch cottage.. I have been to Aaran several times and the friends who shared the cottage have been to the island many times over the last forty years. None of us have stayed in accommodation like this previously. Every comfort was taken care of. Furniture, furnishings, crockery, equipment - all were of good quality and excellent taste. The walls were hung with beautiful artworks. The cottage was spotlessly clean.The welcome pack was most welcome and very thoughtful. Service from Suzanne was excellent and we found the owner to be very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The location was excellent, the views fabulous and the island has so much to offer. We played golf and enjoyed several courses, however we spent many hours walking and enjoying the scenery. Thank you. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambiance, comfort and good taste
Liked least: There was nothing I didn't like!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H
Nelson, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in April 2014

This self catering cottage contains everything you need. It's clean and comfortable. The living room is on the second floor, offering a gorgeous view over the ocean and of Holy Island. The location is perfect for exploring all of the Isle of Arran.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happydaze...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little bit of heaven nestling above the Lamlash Bay”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A highly successful Arran holiday last week in no small way made wonderful by the accommodation at Alt Ardoch Cottage. In 40 years of doing self-catering on Arran the standard of provision in the house was amongst the best I have experienced. The house was immaculate on arrival and was everything I had dreamed of, thought the hummocky drive was bit of challenge - but I drive a low slung car. It is furnished in understated style and reeks of good taste. The kitchen equipment was the most well thought out and thorough in attention to to detail that I have experienced anywhere in Europe. God bless decent crockery and cutlery, it really adds to a good meal. Truly for people like us who wanted to buy meat from the Arran Butcher (can you believe those venison sausages!) and the shellfish from Creelers ( langoustine to make you drool) then bring them home and cook for ourselves the Alt Ardoch kitchen was the best. You come to Arran because it's not like home, so you need a torch in the 'proper' country dark at night, and guess what - they give you one in the cottage. The bedrooms were lovely and the beds very comfortable though our two adults in the twin beds both said they were rather narrow - but they'd come back to them willingly. Great shower. Good wifi, but poor TV reception - guess what, you're in the country so read a book or, if you must, watch TV on your laptop. The welcome box does just what it says on the tin and we did feel welcome. Saving the best for last - what about those views! You may find as good, but I doubt you'll find better. We loved it - money well spent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen equipment and the views
Liked least: narrow twin beds and hummocky drive
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing