We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Accommodation; Setting and Views; Well...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
View towards Holy Isle
View from garden
Pladda and Ailsa Craig
Bathroom with bath and shower over
Glenashdale Falls
Whiting Bay beach
Arran
Glenashdale Falls in autumn
Ben Nuis
Glen Catacol
Lochranza sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lamlash, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lynsd1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Accommodation; Setting and Views; Well worth trying”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great first holiday to Arran cottage made the trip,amazing views , totally relaxing setting , we will be back again

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyAH20...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage with spectacular views”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week on Arran, enhanced by the cottage and its magnificent views.
The cottage was clean and well equipped for a self-catering holiday with a large kitchen, perfect for family meals. The lounge was comfortable, as were the beds. If the weather is kind then the patio is a fantastic spot to sit and take in the view of Lamlash Bay below - the view is utterly breath-taking!
There was plenty of useful information provided about the island's attractions, restaurants, walks etc.
Suzanne, the property manager, was great, very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views!
Liked least: poor tv signal (don't know if this is the norm, or just bad luck?)
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and bathroom.
Liked least: Lack of external light near the driveway. Remember your torch.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sue T T
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful Arran break”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Alt Ardoch having never been to Arran before. The accommodation was excellent and comfortable, with everything we needed and more, in a good location with beautiful views. Having considered coming without the car, we were glad in the end that we did bring it as we found it much easier to get around the island and out to eating places, especially when the rain came down, which it did on several days! I also wouldn't really have wanted to walk along the road either to Lamlash or Whiting Bay as there was no pedestrian verge for much of the way. There was an abundance of places to eat; we had good evening food and service at the Glenisle Hotel in Lamlash and the Brodick Bar/Brasserie, also the Lagg Hotel and Lamlash Bay Hotel. Brodick Castle was a fascinating visit and do talk to the guides, they are full of really interesting information! James' chocolate shop a must for the chocoholic, and Arran cheese is fabulous. I enjoyed a swim at the Auchrannie Resort in Brodick, interspersed with steam room ~ very relaxing. We loved the Holy Isle (take your own flask/sandwiches), and Glenashdale Falls. We would certainly return, both to Arran and Alt Ardoch, and would walk more in better weather. Everyone was very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views .
Liked least: Not feeling safe enough to walk to the nearest towns because of the road.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateyMc
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, Comfortable Cottage”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Arran and wanted to do a bit of walking and exploring. This cottage was in the perfect position for this, not far from Lamlash, Brodick, Whiting Bay and all close to fantastic walks. The cottage itself was lovely with a large kitchen fitted with modern units, the bathroom had a lovely jacuzzi bath which was perfect after walking up hills all day, also had a power shower to waken you up in the morning which was perfect for myself and my friend, the lounge was fabulous for just chilling out. We found a walking trail which takes you into Lamlash without walking on the road with no footpath. Will certainly be renting this cottage again when we return. Wished we had just stayed for the two weeks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The cottage has fabulous views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing