We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Didn't Want to Leave!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Drimlabarra Croft

Drimlabarra Croft - beside the sea!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Drimlabarra Croft - beside the sea!
The road facing side
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
Drimlabarra Croft - beside the sea!
The road facing side
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge patio doors
Dining room
Dining room - wood burning stove
Kitchen
Double bedroom (downstairs)
Double bedroom (downstairs) - view
Family bathroom (downstairs) - with jacuzzi bath
Master bedroom - double (upstairs) - with ensuite shower room and WC
Twin bedroom (upstairs)
Triple room (upstairs) - large room with feature stone fireplace and twin aspects to sea and hills
The enclosed patio garden, private field (belonging to house) with gate to the beach
Spring sunset in the garden
Climbing set and swings with a view!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Kildonan, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Joyce W
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Didn't Want to Leave!”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Wonderful house in a beautiful location - spotlessly clean and all the mod cons we could have asked for. Quality bedding and towels, even baby was accommodated with good quality cot and high chair. We were a family of 5 adults and 4 children, and a dog, and lots of room for all without feeling overcrowded. Kids loved the garden with direct access to the beach, and the large bedroom which accommodated all 3 with enough space for the baby to take his first steps there! Enough showers and bathrooms for all, and everything worked! The owner was delightful and easy to work with and nothing was too much trouble. Arran is beautiful, but you would go far to beat the location of this house. We walked to the Kildonan hotel for dinner - staff were friendly and food was ok, but the bonus was no driving! We will certainly return!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akd953
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful house for a family holiday”
Reviewed 3 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had a lovely family holiday staying at Drimlabarra Croft at Kildonan on Arran. The house is large, well equipped and has fantastic views of Plada Lighthouse and Ailsa Craig. The large garden with access to the beach was enjoyed by all, particularly our dog. We were lucky enough to spot seals and sea otters from the beach. The lounge is very comfortable and the real log fire was a treat. Arran is a beautiful island - well worth a visit. Finding the library on the walk to Eas Mor waterfall was an unexpected and wonderful surprise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
craiga174
Bridge Of Weir
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location for large family with kids.”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A nice house with all the toilets and showers you need for an extended family break. Our four, two to six year olds loved it, especially the big bedroom for kids and great outside space. The price is very reasonable for the size of property in such a location. However, there are a few problems, notably the smell of damp coming from the seaward side entrance. I wouldn't let it stop me from staying there again, but you have to be aware of it if this is a health issue for you. Two kitchen layout is a bit awkward but it is an old extended property, so quirky.

Just a short walk to the hotel where food was good, staff friendly and live music great.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Thanks for the feedback. We are actually getting the damp area you mentioned treated in a couple of weeks - have had to wait til the end of the holiday season to fit it in. So will be sorted out if you have a return visit. Glad you enjoyed your stay and the house!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherine...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Superb house in perfect location”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in a party of 10 (4 adults and 6 kids). It's great with children to be able to go the beach without crossing a road, and that made for a very relaxing holiday. The rooms are all lovely and there was plenty space for the 10 of us, even if the weather had been bad, although we had lovely weather. Kitchen very well equipped, with lots of everything. For younger children, enclosed garden ideal. Ample and easy off street parking. Kildonan was so peaceful, and there are some lovely walks - we went on a forest walk to the library in the woods, which was magical. Excellent value for money - we plan to return! Communication from owners was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning Location”
Reviewed 17 May 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I spent a lovely weekend at Drimlabarra Croft with a group of 6 friends. The house itself was comfortable, spacious and spotless, with a beautiful garden. Even though we were there in October, the weather was pretty good during the day, and we made the most of the direct access to the beach from the garden. The open fire in the sitting room made the Croft particularly cosy in the evening. Arran is a beautiful island, but the location of this Croft was particularly stunning; quiet and peaceful, with fantastic views across the Firth of Clyde to Ailsa Craig, and to the seals sunning themselves on the rocks in the Firth. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and will certainly be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful location and easy access to the beach
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing