We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very well presented appartment”

Review of The Old Granary

The Old Granary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Granary
Lounge/Diningroom Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
The Old Granary
Lounge/Diningroom
Kitchen
Hall
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Bathroom
Crail Harbour
Pitenweem fish market where you can buy fresh prawns
Lighthouse on May Island
Boat leaving May Island
Crail Golf Course Club House
Beach at Crail Golf Courses
The launching of our boat at Crail Harbour
Seals on May Island
18th Hole at the balcomie course at Crail golf courses
Cooked lobster caught from our boat
Live lobster before it was cooked
Crail Harbour
Beach at east of Harbour
Sand sculpture of the May Island at Crail Festival
Beach at East of Harbour during Crail Food Festival
Crail Harbour during food festival
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Heather C
York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very well presented appartment”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We just spent a happy week in Crail. This apartment is beautifully presented and every thought has gone in to providing all that is needed for a self catering holiday. Our dog was also welcome and finishing touches like a bottle of wine and tasty cookies along with amazing toiletries really made it special. Thank you Susan, we loved it.
The only down side is a general lack of mobile phone signals in Crail ... so wi fi would be so helpful. However I also recommend 'Coast' coffee shop in Pittenweem - great food and free wifi :-)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
Many, many thanks for your kind review! We have tried hard to provide everything's that's needed for an enjoyable stay in both our 'Old Granary' and Seagull's Rest' holiday apartments and it is really gratifying when we hear that this has helped make for a pleasant stay! Several of our guests have suggested that Wi-Fi would be a welcome addition to the apartments and we are actually just in the process of having it installed in 'Seagull's Rest' and hope to have it installed in 'The Old Granary' later this year! Again, many thanks! With very best wishes,

Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pgm154
Dunfermline
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for one week in the Old Granary, and found it to be a real joy. The attention to detail in the way it is kitted out, and the overall quality, is outstanding, and a credit to its owner. Our party comprised of two adults, two children under ten, and a small dog and we found it to be spacious and very comfortable. The Old Granary is in an excellent position for shops and amenities, and the harbour and beaches. We will look forward to booking another stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation, overall comfort and quality.
Liked least: Only one set of keys.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We have worked hard over the last few years to provide comfortable and well appointed accommodation in both 'The Old Granary' and 'Seagull's Rest' and it is very rewarding to us when our efforts have resulted in a really enjoyable break for our guests! It was kind of you to take the time to write a review and we very much hope that we will be able to welcome you back again!
Best wishes, Susan and Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agnes M
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a break in the East Neuk”
Reviewed 26 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We spent a lovely week in the comfort of the Old Granary. The flat is beautifully appointed, but it's the attention to detail which makes this holiday let special. Such as the spring flowers in the lounge. We travelled by bus but the flat was very close to the bus stops. We love Crail and hope to return to the Granary. Thank you Susan

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior decoration is so we co-ordinated
Liked least: No complaints!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2013
It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your week at 'The Old Granary' and I was pleased that the weather was mostly kind to you! I lived in the flat when I first came to Crail and have many happy memories of staying there and am delighted now to offer it now as a holiday flat for others to enjoy! Many thanks for your kind comments! Best wishes, Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megdoc1
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cosy. Executive. Warming.”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Had a two night stay with my aunt and our cavalier spaniel Ru the flat was equipped to a very high standard. Warm and inviting. We cooked our own meals and the kitchen is fantastic for any culinary delight. It's a great location as on Main Street of crail. We enjoyed enormously. We will return
Many thanks Susan.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2013
Many, many thanks for your very kind review! We were delighted that you found the flat well-equipped and warm and inviting and very much look forward to welcoming you back for another stay sometime soon!

Best wishes,

Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margarets...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Lovely Xmas in Crail”
Reviewed 29 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Stayed at the Granary for three nights with my sister over Xmas. The accommodation was very comfortable, cosy and well presented. Crail is lovely and we hope to be back in the summer. (to the Granary, of course)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the decor with all the attention to detail and the sumptuous beds
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments about your stay at 'The Old Granary' - I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope that you are able to visit us again in the summer! Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$119
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing