We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Large Modern House Ideal For Family...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Vinery

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Crail, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Samuel B
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Large Modern House Ideal For Family Get-togethers”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We rented this house for 6 days in October 2015. At winter rates, it worked out reasonable for our group of seven extended family members. Collecting the keys from Kingask's office near St Andrews was straightforward and they said we could just leave them at the property if returning them to the office on departure was inconvenient. Our first impression or arrival was that parking was a bit limited for our three cars but we managed. The house, however, exceeded our expectations. It is large, spacious and has been made very comfortable with plenty of sofas in the beautiful first floor lounge overlooking the town and sea. There are plenty of bedrooms and a huge very well-equipped kitchen.

The place was immaculate and handy information and guidance is clearly displayed. Fife's convoluted waste management's system requires lots of wheelie bins to go out on different days. Thankfully, this was explained clearly.

Situated back from the main road through Crail, access is easy and a walk to the main street which has an excellent fish and chip shop takes only a few minutes. There's a nice bakery, a Co-op store and various other shops, cafes, a wine bar and two hotel/pubs. The harbour is small and very attractive with a small sand beach adjacent.

There are plenty of entertainment options at the property with large flat screen TVs in some rooms, a garage with pool, table tennis, darts and other games which came in handy on several rainy days. A large garden has decking and a picnic table.

Everything was in good order but we had cause to contact Kingask for assistance twice. The mattress on the master bed was very hard and uncomfortable but it was changed the same day after we complained. One of our party broke off a key in the garage lock - their fault because they did not notice a sign warning it had to be removed before lifting the door - but Kingask sent a locksmith promptly to repair it. On both occasions, Kingask were very responsive, surprising in a way because I found booking wasn't easy via telephone with repeated calls and call-backs necessary.

Overall, all of our party were highly complimentary about The Old Vinery and indeed Kingask's responsiveness to problems and we would happily stay there again, especially as pets are allowed for a reasonable supplement.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge and kitchen were spacious and well equipped.
Liked least: The mattress on the master bed was terrible but quickly replaced when reported.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Dear Grahambrown26,

Thank you very much for your lovely review of The Old Vinery. As you say it is a fantastic property for large groups and Crail is a beautiful town.

We're sorry you had some issues getting hold of us whilst making your booking. As we are a small office we do use an out of office call handling service to take our calls when we are out of the office. The call centre then emails and texts the staff to alert us to a missed call. In response to our customers we have now changed our call centre.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we would be delighted to welcome you and your family back anytime.

Kindest regards,

Kingask Properties
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sara C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay!”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Another wonderful stay in Crail with Kingask. The cottage was exceptionally clean as always, and very well equipped. Lovely service with clean towels and bed linen for second week. Thank you to all at Kingask.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juice453
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN CRAIL”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our family which covered 3 generations from 3 - 67 had a great time in this well equipped house with a safe garden. Lots of extras that you might not get elsewhere such as games, sit upon plastic tractor. Lots of spec too Can thoroughly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location space and comfort
Liked least: slight lack of extra plates and cutlery
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma W
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great House!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We hired the Old Vinery for a weekend and it was exactly as described on the website. The house itself was beautiful, spacious and well equipped with everything you could want including wifi & a play station. The view from the sitting room upstairs in gorgeous. The games room in the garage kept the kids occupied and the garden was great for a bbq. The garden furniture was a bit past it but luckily we had brought fold away chairs so it didn't prove an issue for us. Would definitely hire this house again!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Sorry to hear about the garden furniture but we had them cleaned as soon as we saw this!
Thank you again and we would be delighted to have you back soon.

From all at Kingask!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
186534Mor...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic family friendly place”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A superb family house, warm ,comfortable and spacious. Great to have the equipment in the garage - we ran competitions all week . Despite typical Scottish weather we had a ball !!

Only one suggestion - some boxes/tins to keep biscuits etc fresh would be a help,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious accommodation
Liked least: Hard to find fault at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind words, hope to see you in the near future.

All of us at Kingask
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing