We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous, homely holiday cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Anstruther, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

SCoTLASS1...
Sanquhar, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous, homely holiday cottage”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed here for our family's summer holiday in July. Penny the owner is just lovely and so very friendly and helpful. The Lodge has everything you need and MORE for a self catering holiday from being spotlessly clean to having very comfy beds. It is situated in the lovely secluded village of Kilrenny and within easy walking distance of Anstruther. The east coast is beautiful with plenty to see and explore. The lodge is ideally situated near lots of the tourist attractions. We all came back our holiday relaxed and refreshed and can't wait to return, will most definitely be back.......soon I hope :-)

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2014
Hi
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Lodge. The East Neuk provides a fabulous get away from it all holiday retreat with plenty to see and do as and when you feel like it.
The local area in particular allows children ( and those of us who are still young at heart ) to experience the simple adventures such as climbing trees and exploring the many rock pools, and discovering nature that is on your doorstep at The Lodge.
I am pleased that the accommodation was to your taste and I look forward to welcoming you to stay again very soon.

With Warmest Regards

Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KateyT
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet haven”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed here for a long weekend on a break from Edinburgh and had a lovely time. The cottage is hidden away with it's own garden and there were lovely walks to go on along the sea and in nearby Anstruther.
The cottage is well equipped with everything we needed including complimentary tea, coffee, biscuits and wine which was a great welcome.
Would definitely stay here again if visiting the area, Kilrenny is a lovely quiet village with lots of character for those wanting to escape it all.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage was lovely and clean and the beds were very comfortable
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Hi
So glad that you had such a lovely relaxing break. We Look forward to your next visit.
With Kindest Regards
Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouisG3
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation, very comfortable and well equipped ideally situated.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed at the property for a week and found the accommodation very comfortable and well equipped. The welcome pack of a bottle of wine, biscuits and milk was a nice touch. Penny the owner was very helpful and welcoming. This is a pet friendly cottage and we will definitely be back.

Date of stay: April 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2014
Hi,
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay, it was lovely to meet you and your mum. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Kindest Regards

Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah N
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family home, in a wonderful area”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed with my partner, baby and 2 young children. The cottage has everything you need, tin of biscuits, bottle of wine, milk, tea and coffee all ready for arrival was really good after a 5 hour drive. Owner is very helpful and friendly advising us of places to visit in the area and greeting us upon arrival, house was lovely and warm when we arrived, beds are very comfortable - memory foam mattress. Enclosed garden, good for children and bbq in nicer weather and off street parking. There is a large coop just a mile away. There a lots of places to eat and friendly pubs.

We explored a lot of beaches along the Fife coast. ideal for cheap days out if you take a picnic. Visited lots of play parks and they were all superb quality very clean, there is park a few minute walk from the cottage and another about a mile away. the whole area was clean and great scenery. Craigton park was lovely, we loved the fairy garden, you could easily spend the day there, ideal for a picnic, don't forget bread for the ducks!

If you have kids visit muddy boots farm (take wellies!) good for all ages, also action zone in Leven in worth a visit, especially if weather is not good, it was under £5 each for kids including lunch and the chicken nuggets were real pieces of chicken breast

The cocoa tree in Pittenweem is fab, you must go and have a cup of hot chocolate its very much like the cafe/shop in the film Chocolat and the aroma is great

o2 phone signal was good in the area, and wifi is also available

We highly recommended this cottage and we have already booked to go back in July, we look forward to visiting the beaches in warmer weather

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: a quiet relaxed holiday
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.