We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable, clean and cosy!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Dairy

The Old Dairy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Dairy
Twin bedroom is wheelchair accessible on the ground floor Double height open plan kitchen/dining/living space
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The Old Dairy
Twin bedroom is wheelchair accessible on the ground floor
Double height open plan kitchen/dining/living space
Kitchen and dining area
Double height living room
Well equipped kitchen
Wood burning stove for cosy winter nights
The Old Dairy is part of a working small-holding
Comfortable living space
Double bedroom has ensuite WC/washroom
Plan your adventure around Loch Lomond!
Stunning local scenery
Ben Lomond to the north, Scotland's most southern Munro
The Old Dairy
Solar PV and thermal panels provide power and hot water
Spectacular sunset over the Cobbler
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emma3143
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean and cosy!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We took our six month old baby for his first getaway here, was perfect. The attention to detail in the cottage meant we didn't want for anything and everything was immaculate. The area was beautiful, the view from the top of 'The Dumpling' was spectacular!! Loved being there, especially seeing the Loch washed in gorgeous autumn colours. Returning to the cottage and getting the wood burner roaring and settling down for a cosy night was the perfect end to the day. Couldn't rate this place more highly, we are really looking forward to another visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2014
Pleasure to meet you and we are glad you had such a lovely first holiday together. We really do our best to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible so it's terrific to receive your review. Thank you. Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy H
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“High standard accommodation close to Glasgow and Loch Lomond”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Comfortable accommodation, well equipped and warm. Friendly welcome from the owners after our late arrival. Goodies appreciated too. Beautiful views from upstairs bedroom. Trip up the Dumpling recommended.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2014
We always recommend a trip up the small hill at the end of our driveway - known locally as The Dumpling - the views are terrific and its such a popular walk so we're glad you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris891
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We spent a lovely weekend in the recently renovated Old Dairy. Full of character and eco-friendly. Would thoroughly recommend this lovely location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The company
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Mar 2014
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M
Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent rural retreat, and close enough to Glasgow and amenities to keep children amused!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

A beautiful cottage, in perfect condition, in a lovely, quiet setting. Great for families with kids, and close enough to places like Lomond Shores and Glasgow to ensure that there is enough of different kinds of activities, to keep everyone amused and content.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb location (country, part of a farm) and beautiful building.
Liked least: The stairs, which for two year olds meant they had to be managed (but not a real issue)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2013
Thank you for your review. There is plenty to do for families locally the whole year round and we're glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best regards
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morefig
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing cottage!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My sister, a friend and me had a great time at The Old Dairy. Deborah and her partner have really thought through what a place needs to be perfect for a holiday. The fireplace, the beds, the bread and marmalade. All lovely. They were really helpful and nice hosts, living quite close by was quite handy for questions and sorting out the internet. Really recommend this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the fireplace
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
I remember the snow falling outside when you were with us so we're glad that you enjoyed the warmth of the cottage and the wood burning stove.
Best wishes to you all, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing