We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
599 results
Traveller rating
270
189
81
34
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
189
81
34
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoach houseantrim coaststeakold worldhistoric hotelpepper saucefriendly hotelits charmvisited this hotelfish and chipssalmonirish seanight portersconesnorthern irelandwheat breadcourse meal
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 599 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for a night whilst doing the Antrim coast route. The room was spacious and grand but maybe a little dated but it gave it character and a certain look. The bathroom was nice and modern and clean. The lift is a specialism but fits in with the place. I like Carnlough with its little harbour and this hotel is well placed to explore form. The bed was comfy and in the morning the breakfast was functional. Not the best breakfast as per the ones in B&Bs but certainly good for a hotel.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank johnnytrickster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry Arm... H, Front Office Manager at Londonderry Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you so much johnnytrickster. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for all your kind comments, which we have passed to all of our team. We hope to see you the next time you are along the causeway coastal route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We visited the Londonderry Arms during a short break in Northern Ireland. We just stopped for drinks and shortbread (which was lovely!) but the food did look pretty good from what I saw! The staff were friendly and we met a chap who gave us a bit of history about the hotel and local area which was really interesting. I would just say that maybe the restaurant is a little old fashioned and could do with a bit of an update.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motherofcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry Arm... H, Front Office Manager at Londonderry Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you so much motherofcakes. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the hotel, especially our Homemade Shortbread. We have noted all your comments and passed them on to all of our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

We called at this restaurant for dinner this evening. From the outset the “service” we received would have given Julie Walters much material to work with.
The hotel has three dining areas. One looks to be an ordinary bar, one is the proper restaurant and there is a third area with tables.
We were invited to take a seat “by the fire” and we would be brought menus (from the proper restaurant). After sitting like lemons for about 10 minutes a lady from another area asked if we wanted menus. Er, yes please! A couple of dog-eared menus were eventually produced - then nothing!
We went back to the “proper” restaurant and managed to find someone who allowed us to find ourselves a table (not difficult as it was deserted).
Our order for food and drinks was taken. I don’t know if it is a Northern Ireland thing or whether it is a speciality of the Londonderry Arms to serve lager which is between tepid and warm? To rub salt in the wound it was served in a glass which proudly proclaimed “Ice Cold”. Nice touch.
The food arrived but without the side order we had requested. That eventually arrived, after a reminder, when we had eaten about two thirds of our main course.
The food itself was fine - and fairly inexpensive. It’s a shame that the service and lack of effective management defined our visit. The one exception was a young lady who did assist us in a professional manner and who eventually took our payment. Fortunately for the others my wife and I much enjoy Julie Waters’ “Mrs Overall” soup sketch and the Londonderry Arms visit brought it all back to us.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry Arm... H, Front Office Manager at Londonderry Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you so much Robert G. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We were disappointed to learn about the service you received and we have noted all your comments and passed them on to our hotel manager and our staff. We do hope you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Do not go here. An awful place. I made a reservation, but was seated in the back room. To say it was dated is an understatement. 1970. We had two friends over on holiday and it was embarrasing. Bad service, cold food. Part of order( a sandwich) which took an extra 15 minutes. Grubby salt cellar, grubby menu, unpleasant staff who didnt have an idea of serving a meal. Food leaning on waitresses top as carried to the table. I coyld go on, but am sure the hotel wouldnt care anyway. We didnt want to make a fuss as were bringing guests, but never again.

Room Tip: Just do not stay here
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry Arm... H, Front Office Manager at Londonderry Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you so much Linda A. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We were truly sorry to read that you were disappointed with your visit to the Hotel. We have noted all your comments and have passed them on to our hotel manager, our staff and our Head Chef.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

With a cup of Tea in the Londonderry Arms Hotel in Carnlough I would suggest the Shortbread - in fact the Shortbread with anything would be good as it is delicious.
The Hotel looks out over the Harbour and the Irish Sea and is a great place to stop off on the way through, or as a base to check out the area.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mo_DaW171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry Arm... H, Front Office Manager at Londonderry Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you so much Mo_DaW171. Your feedback is important to us and we appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Homemade Shortbread and we have passed on your kind comments to our Chef. We hope to see you next time you are along the Causeway Coastal Route.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews