We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Antrim Base”
other travellers have booked this property
Entrance to the Barn Spring 2020. Traditional stone cottage set in a picturesque rural location.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance to the Barn Spring 2020. Traditional stone cottage set in a picturesque rural location.
Entrance to the Barn. Tourism Northern Ireland 4* Accreditation Tourism Northern Ireland 4* Accreditation
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Entrance to the Barn Spring 2020. Traditional stone cottage set in a picturesque rural location.
Entrance to the Barn. Tourism Northern Ireland 4* Accreditation
Tourism Northern Ireland 4* Accreditation
Cosy TV Corner with Feature Fireplace and Electric Fire
Own Photobook showcasing all the local attractions, places to eat and Causeway Costal Route.
Spacious Living Room in Barn
Games Corner in Living Room with Selection of Board Games for Hours of Fun with Family & Friends!
Enjoy hours of fun playing the available Board Games.
Information Corner with leaflets on Places of Interest.
Recent Guest Comments 2019.
View from Living Room to Secluded Patio Area
Bookcase Detail in the Living Room.
Spacious, Fully Equipped Country Style Kitchen
Selection of Cookery Books.
View of Kitchen from Kitchen Door Entrance
View from Kitchen into Living Room.
Complimentary Welcome Hamper containing: tea, coffee, milk, bread, jam, cereal & other treats.
Homemade BallyCairn Brownies!
View of Stairs from First Floor Landing.
View from Upstairs Landing Window. Quiet Seated Reading Corner.
Upstairs Hallway with Mezzanine.
Detail in Double Bedroom.
View of Antrim Hills and Garden from Double Bedroom.
View of Garden and Sea from Double Room and Bunkroom Bedrooms.
Bunk Bedroom.
Storage and Dressing Area in Bunk Bedroom.
Upstairs Bathroom with Electric Shower, Wash Basin and WC.
Bathroom.
Hand Made Ceramic Tile Feature of Washbasin in the Bathroom.
Bedroom No 3 with King Bed and Cot.
View from Bedroom 3 of farmland and the Irish Sea.
Bedroom No 3 Cot and King Bed.
View of Garden and the enclosed rear Patio & BBQ area from Double Bedroom.
Secure Patio Area at the side and around the rear of the Barn
In summer months, the little herb and vegetables bed  for guests' use in cooking.
Panoramic View of Beautiful Ballygally Beach 1km.
The Meeting House Pub (aka 'Matties') 1km from the cottage. Live Traditional Music Thursday Evenings
Rambling on the Antrim Hills 3km.
GoT® 'Lands of The North' 3km from the Cottage.
Carnfunnock Country Park 3km from Cottage.
Maze at Carnfunnock Country Park 3km.
Cairndhu Golf Club 3km.
Glenarm Castle, Tearooms and Gardens 12km.
Black House Lighthouse 22km.
Railway Museum at Whitehead 22km.
Anglo Norman Castle at Carrickfergus 25km.
Titanic Exhibition Centre, Belfast 40km.
Waterfalls at Glenariff Forest Park 37km.
Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge 64km.
GoT® 'The Dark Hedges'  69km.
Dunluce Castle 83km.
The Giant's Causeway 87km.
Beachcomb at Whitepark Bay 83km.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Ballygally, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sudipbose
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Antrim Base”
Reviewed 3 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

What a lovely, immaculate, and comfortable house this was! The Antrim coast is glorious countryside, and this residence, built up from the stone ruins of a former barn and situated on the grounds of a B&B, is an ideal base from which to explore it. So much is within driving distance: castles, forest parks, the famed glens, beautiful villages, beaches, waterfalls, bustling Belfast, and a quite stunning museum devoted to the life and work of Seamus Heaney. (We ventured south to Co. Down, as well, home to several excellent sites.) The generous hosts, Johnny and Dee, could not have been friendlier or more helpful, and the welcome basket included decadent homemade brownies and raspberry jam, among other treats. Indeed, the kitchen was spacious and well-stocked, and after long days of sightseeing, we were able to cook excellent meals, sourcing ingredients from specialty markets and mobile fishmongers (to say nothing of the many herbs in the garden). We were reluctant to leave and hope one day to return.

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2018
Dear Sudip and Elaine,
Our sincere thanks for your warm, heartfelt and most eloquent review in respect of your trip to a Northern Irelnd, staying in the Barn @ BallyCairn. Dee and I greatly appreciate your comments and compliments regarding the welcome basket, the barn’s facilities and comfort, our hospitality and how useful you found our sightseeing advice and also for highlighting that BallyCairn is an excellent location and base for exploring the exciting attractions of the Causeway Coastal Route, the beautiful Glens of Antrim, Belfast, Co Down and special thanks for your special mention for the Seamus Heaney literary museum, ‘Homeland’ in Bellaghy. The tantalising photos you shared of the fine meals you cooked in the Barn during your stay, using local produce and herbs from the garden, are amazing! It was such a pleasure meeting you both and your delightful son. We would be thrilled to have you return to stay in the future. Kindest regards, Johnny and Dee.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superdad1...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Beautiful barn , beautiful location and beautiful people . My daughter got married at the bottom of the road at bally gally castle . The whole week was perfect from start to finish and I can’t thank Johnny and Dee enough for making us feel so welcome ! And the welcome brownies were to die for xx

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay in the Barn @ BallyCairn. We greatly appreciate the full star rating, your affirming compliments regarding the standard of the accomodation, the scenic rural location over looking the Irish Sea, our hospitality and the welcome brownies! Dee and I are delighted that you got such amazing weather during your week long stay, celebrating your daughter’s wedding. We would be delighted to have you return in the future. Kind regards, Johnny and Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
422AnneJ
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 14 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just back from a wonderful long weekend stay. The Barn is exceptional. Beautifully renovated, cosy with everything and more you need. Hosts Johnny and Dee are so welcoming. The welcome hamper is super with home made jam and delicious brownies. Johnny and Dee have created a wonderful holiday home looking over the fields to the coast road. Would highly recommend this for families or couples.

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2018
Thank you Anne for your wonderful review of your recent stay in the Barn. Dee and I greatly appreciate your comments regarding our hospitality, the comfort and standard of the accomodation, it’s quiet rural location with sea views and we are delighted that you enjoyed the welcome hamper, especially the home made treats. We would be thrilled to have you return to stay in the future. Kindest regards, Johnny and Dee.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patricia...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely first class, extremely comfortable, cannot find anything to criticise”
Reviewed 27 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Set in a country location, with stunning views of the sea, if you want to relax, yet are only an hour away from major attractions this is the place for you!! The house and gardens are immaculately presented, and the welcome pack has to be seen to be believed. Johnny and Dee have thought of everything to make this a home from home, and the beds are so comfy, you are ensured of a good nights sleep. Johnny has a wealth of knowledge about the area, and is happy to point out the hidden attractions. This is a holiday home that I will definitely book again, and have recommended to my friends and family

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Thank you Patricia for your wonderful review and the 5 bubbles which you awarded for your stay in the Barn @ BallyCairn. Dee and I are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and we greatly appreciate you very kind compliments regarding the welcome you received, the location, comfort and decor of the accomodation, the garden, welcome basket and advice on attractons and places to visit in the locality, Belfast, East Antrim and The Causeway Coastal Route. It was a true pleasure meeting you, Alan and your lovely family. We would be thrilled to have you stay again in the future. Thank you also for recommending the cottage to your family and friends. We hope we have the pleasure of having some of them stay here.
Kind regards,
Johnny and Dee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jill p
County Down, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful cottage with stunning views”
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our first visit to Ireland and we shall certainly be back. We visted with our twin 13 yr old daughters for a relaxing holiday and that's what we got. We cannot fault this beautiful cottage which feels like home the minute you enter. It's comfortable, clean and very well equipped in every possible way. There are so many thoughtful touches to this place from the welcome pack, including cornflakes, home made bread, jam and brownies, board games( which the girls loved), binoculars and plenty of books to read but the list is endless.
Johnny and Dee are friendly and welcoming and you immediately get the feeling that nothing is too much trouble. It's tranquil and relaxing appearing in the middle of nowhere ( just what we wanted) yet only a few minutes drive to the local pub, shop and coast rd. Our stay was short on this occasion but we plan to return to spend more time exploring this beautiful part of the country and will definitely stay here again.
Could not find fault in this whole experience!
The Penny Family

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2017
Thank you Jill for your detailed review of your recent stay with your family in The Barn @ BallyCairn. Dee and I greatly appreciate your wonderful compliments regarding how comfortable you felt and the range of facilities on offer within the cottage. We would be delighted to have you return to stay in the future. Kind regards, Johnny and Dee.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.