We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family celebration weekend”
other travellers have booked this property
The perfect location any time of year!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The perfect location any time of year!
Dogs Welcome at Rose Cottage! Lulworth Cove showing Rose Cottage on the left hand side.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
30 reviews
The perfect location any time of year!
Dogs Welcome at Rose Cottage!
Lulworth Cove showing Rose Cottage on the left hand side.
Climb Bindon Hill high above the cottage for the best view of the Cove.   On top of the world!
This view of Lulworth Cove can be yours, only 5 minutes walk from Rose Cottage
Enjoy our secluded garden with sea and hill views all year but especially in the Spring.
Bindon Hill - fully fenced but with spectacular views,  makes an ideal place to walk the dog.
Rose Cottage lives up to its name in Summer glory!
The perfect  winter retreat!
Beautifully furnished Dining Room for that formal meal.  Seats 10.
Ensuite shower.
Storm in Lulworth Cove - 2 minutes walk!
and after the storm!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wareham, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marion D
1 review
“Fantastic family celebration weekend”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful weekend in the cottage which came complete with everything you would need. Great new kitchen breakfast room for spending time catching up with the family. Cosy bedrooms with loads of space for everyone, very clean & tidy with a fabulous log burner, views, garden and BBQ. Strolling distance from the cove and wonderful countryside with coastal paths to explore. The whole family have shared some wonderful memories here and would definitely go back.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Thank you so much for this lovely reviiew. We put a lot of time and effort into making things nice for our visitors and really appreciate positive feed back. We are so pleased you had a happy family time with us. We look forward to seeing you again sometime. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plytanach...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lulworth cottage treat”
Reviewed 8 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We hired Rose Cottage for a group of friends and were not disappointed. In a great location just yards from local pubs and the lovely cove at Lulworth.
The woodburner was a great hit and very welcome when returning from the winter chill. Plenty of logs supplied. Kitchen well appointed.
Property needs some TLC which the owner acknowledges but has plenty of character you would expect from an old English thatched cotttage. I am told a refurb is planned for 2017.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and price
Liked least: hard to say, but needs updating somewhat
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2016
Dear Lawrence, Thank you for taking the time to review Rose Cottage. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we are excited that we are only a few weeks away from our 3 month closure for a complete refit. We are to rebuild the 'conservatory' which will extend the kitchen and make a completely new family friendly sitting area. We will take this opportunity to do other tasks that will make the Rose Cottage experience even better for 2017! Happy Christmas and Happy New Year to you and all our guests, past and future. Catriona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cdux2016
Languedoc-Roussillon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy Cottage by the Cove”
Reviewed 22 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A superb location for a family celebration in a stunning corner of Britain. 'It's a house that hugs you', as my wife said. It was the perfect base for three generations to get together, very well situated to make the most of what Dorset has to offer. After a day at the Tank Museum or riding the railway to Swanage, what could be better than to wander down to the cove to enjoy the sunset before retiring to Rose Cottage?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and the location.
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us this nice review.. We do appreciate good feed back. Rose Cottage does seem to suit the extended family and will be even better when we have completed our refit in the New Year when we will be extending the kitchen to make it even more family friendly.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watkins44...
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location, poor standard of property”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wonderful location, lovely thatched period cottage and generally well equipped BUT it comes with serious issues.
The main concern being the long term rat infestation. The owner was very reluctant to admit to the problem but the burrows were long established and the people sleeping in the downstairs bedroom were kept awake four nights out of five with the sound of scratching inside the walls. (Four rats spotted by our party.)
In addition, the whole property requires money spent on it and a general overhaul. Examples include: ill fitting doors/doors that do not close; door latches broken; a trecherously slippery downstairs bathroom floor ( despite the tiles supposedly being non-slip.) Garden unkempt, dishwasher and DVD player broken; a dangerously sharp wire protruding from the dining room table and minimal security ie. Front/back door and no lock on the back gate.
We did not want to write a negative review on here but we tried speaking to the owner on our departure but she was VERY reluctant to recognise the problems listed.
In conclusion: a perfect location BUT a property in need of a significant amount on money being spent on it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Rats!!!!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2016
I am very disappointed by this review after a long summer of excellent reviews and happy customers and must apologise to my customers for our failings in this case. We did have a rat problem which escalated very suddenly and was dealt with immediately. It is now completely under control. No-one wants to meet a rat, myself included, but as owners we do not sleep in the property and do have to be told when a problem arises. The cottage has solid cob walls which cannot be penetrated by rats. Unfortunately they did penetrate via a plumbing ingress in the exterior boiler house but we are confident that this problem will not happen again. We were reluctant to use rat poison where there are children and dogs and the subsequent dead rats are also undesirable. It was a very difficult situation which I had not experienced in the ten years we have owned Rose Cottage. I am really sorry we could not deal with the situation without upsetting our customers. We really hope it will never happen again!

As to the other problems mentioned in this review. We will be closing for three months in January to modernise and extend the kitchen. This will also give us the opportunity to redecorate and repair where necessary. We can assure our remaining guests until then that we will address the small deficiencies mentioned as best we can.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, Hants
Reviewed 23 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Thank you for writing such a long and positive review. Lovely to have and really helpful for future guests to read. We hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing