We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (489)
Filter reviews
489 results
Traveller rating
342
80
33
16
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
80
33
16
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river afternoon tea drawing room boat house wine list special occasion coffee and petit fours db b garden restaurant birthday lunch kingfisher suite gardens are lovely wonderful lunch copper bath scones pre dinner drinks lamb
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 489 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is set amidst the loveliest of gardens leading down to the waters edge this really is the most idilc location. The new garden restaurant is a great addition which is spacious, light and serves appealing varied dishes. Our room had recently been completely refurbished, tastefully decorated with lots of room to relax with a very comfortable bed and great bathroom. The hotel is the perfect location for exploring the Dorset coast and countryside and I’m longing to find an excuse to return.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peascod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked lunch to celebrate a family birthday and were not disappointed. The setting is quite breathtaking, even in winter, when the gardens are not at their best. The hotel is a very old abbey next to the church in Wareham and is full of quirky, uneven corridors, nooks and crannies and then you walk into the restaurant, which is a modern addition with sliding glass walls which open onto the garden and river bank. Our menu included smoked mackerel and lamb hash as starters (both decent but not spectacular) and we chose the trout and chicken pie with artichoke for mains which were delicious. Service was first class and the ambience wonderful. We will be back!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018 via mobile

Came here as we'd been given a voucher for our wedding. The whole experience was incredible. The staff were amazing - friendly, cheery and helpful.

From the moment we sat in the bar, through to choosing our meal and the food experience we were staggered by the whole thing.

Food was incredible. So incredibly tasty and fresh. Now don't expect this to be a cheap experience but i have to admit it was worth every penny

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Payrollpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

Booked this and travelled over an hour to be told that we couldn’t have it!

Booked in for cream tea! Surely a hotel could rustle up a few sandwiches? Told no! Wonderful customer services NOT!

Waiting ages to be served. Not as good as reviews suggest.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank zimms68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2018

A nice break in comfortable surroundings with excellent food. The staff are helpful and attentive and look after you very well. The weather was not brilliant but the outlook over the river is always very pleasant. The success of The Priory is, I think, demonstrated by the number of guests who return on a fairly regular basis.

Room tip: They are all very different, do ask reception for details of what they’re offering you - ground floor, first, boat house, large/small room.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews