We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Belview Cottage was a great place for me to visit...”

Review of Belview Cottage

Belview Cottage - a hidden gem in the heart of the Blackmore Vale
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Belview Cottage - a hidden gem in the heart of the Blackmore Vale
Spacious lounge with HD TV and wood-burner effect electric fire Light and spacious dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Belview Cottage - a hidden gem in the heart of the Blackmore Vale
Spacious lounge with HD TV and wood-burner effect electric fire
Light and spacious dining area
Well equipped kitchen with high spec appliances
Twin bedroom with views over grassy fields
Double bedroom with views towards distant hills
Spacious bathroom with separate shower cubicle and bath
Fully enclosed garden with table and chairs
Sunset view from the twin room
Misty morning view
Beautiful countryside right next to the cottage
Sturminster Newton, the friendly local market town
Medieval Pack Horse Bridge a short walk from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sturminster Newton, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
EmmaCHarr...
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Belview Cottage was a great place for me to visit with family over Christmas”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Staying in rented accommodation over Christmas could have been a bit difficult, but Brian & Gillian had added some lovely touches to make it seem like a home away from home for the holidays. The cottage was really well equipped, from top to bottom; so even Christmas dinner was effortless! The downstairs living space was great, especially when bringing together family and a dog. And for me, it was in a great location, close to extended family and friends. I really couldn't have got anywhere better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the owners had thought of lots of little extras, to make your stay comfortable.
Liked least: I really can't think of anything that I didn't like; everything was great. Maybe the sloping roof in the bedroom; but really, that's nothing, and it's clearly stated on the website.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous cottage in lovely Dorset countryside”
Reviewed 6 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Pleasantly situated in a quiet rural hamlet, a warm, light and airy cottage, immaculately maintained and well equipped, with far reaching views of the surrounding Blackmore Vale countryside. The owners of which have given much thought to the comfort of their temporary tenants, providing a thoughtful welcome pack and good information, maps, guides to the surrounding countryside. Ideally situated to enable visitors to easily reach the historic towns, countryside and coastline of Dorset

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality and ambiance
Liked least: Sloping ceilings in bedrooms
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent, well equiped touring base”
Reviewed 24 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Extremely well appointed property with great attention to detail and a very high standard of cleanliness. Having a young child we found the blackout blinds in the bedrooms and the stair gate particularly useful. The private garden/patio area gave a safe area for our son to play and ourselves to relax after the days trips. Ideal location to explore Dorsets coastline and interior.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall high standard of the property
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Super property, well equipped, clean AND accepts dogs”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This property is set in the owners enclosed grounds, situated off the beaten track in a the small village of Fifehead Neville. Upon arrival there is always that feeling of apprehension "will it be a good standard". That feeling soon melted away - spotlessly clean and well equipped. It was great that we could bring our working cocker spaniel. Molly. We particularly like the fact that no animals are allowed upstairs, this ensures carpets etc are perfectly clean. The location is great but slightly isolated, this is not a problem however would of been nice to be within walking distance of a local shop (minor point).
There are plenty of walks with stunning views. We loved the market town of Blandford Forum, also slightly further afield Winbourne with its market on Friday.
Although the weather wasn't good the cottage made up for it. We booked through Sykes Cottages however the Owners Brian & Gillian Puddy inform us that they will not be using Sykes in future therefore booking are now made direct:
http://belviewcottagedorset.co.uk
We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Equipment standard and cleanliness
Liked least: Sloping roof in bedrooms (not really a problem, we are struggling to find a negative)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoe T
Oakham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent value for money in an idyllic setting.”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Brian and Gillian Puddy who run Belview Cottage have thought of everything to give their guests a home from home in an idyllic country setting. The property is secure and secluded within the garden of the Puddy's family home. We stayed with our 19 month old daughter and 10 year old german shepherd cross and everything, from the blackout blinds in the bedrooms to the dog water bowl and outside tap in the cottage's private garden helped us to live our daily routine with ease! The kitchen is excellently well equipped, the cottage is finished to a superbly high standard and Fifehead Neville is surrounded by stunning walks and easy access by car to some of the most beautiful towns and villages in Dorset and the breathtaking Jurassic coast. We were made to feel very welcome and there was tea, coffee and biscuits and a pint of milk in the fridge on arrival which was hugely appreciated after a 4 hour drive!
The Puddy's have done a great job in providing a luxury holiday cottage at a very reasonable price. I have no doubt that we, as I am sure have many other previous guests, will be making a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ease it provided when travelling with a young child.
Liked least: No complaints at all.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing