We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy Cottage near Corfe Castle”
other travellers have booked this property
Proximity to the pub
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Proximity to the pub
Sitting room Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
62 reviews
Proximity to the pub
Sitting room
Sitting Room
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
Dining room / Reading room
Reading room through to Conservatory
The Conservatory
Rear view of the cottage
The terrace
View of Corfe Castle from the terrace
Under the grapevines
Herb garden
Ground floor plan
Upstairs floor plan
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
A walk from the cottage
The view whilst washing up
The view whilst washing up
The view whilst washing up
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Corfe Castle, Isle of Purbeck, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
jmg0dfrey
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Cosy Cottage near Corfe Castle”
Reviewed 27 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

If you want a cosy cottage with stunning views and a good pub within 100m, you cannot do better than this. Clean, tidy and as advertised.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freedom55...
1 review
“Great little getaway!”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We stayed at the Old Reading Room at the beginning of Dec & it's absolutely delightful! After a very cold walk on the beach we enjoyed a cosy night in front of the fire! The cottage has a very welcoming feel to it, has a lovely quirkiness & has everything you need! We'd definitely book again in warmer weather so we could enjoy the garden & amazing view!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny P
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Pet friendly Cottage”
Reviewed 26 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The Old Reading Room Cottage is beautiful, comfy beds, pretty log fire, good wi-fi, amazing views from the secure dog safe garden. Everything has been provided for you to have a perfect stay. We stayed with our 2 dogs and especially enjoyed the walks from the cottage to the coastal path. Amazing countryside on your doorstep. Pub next-door was convenient & friendly. Cheryl was very kind & helpful. Will certainly be looking to stay again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipey1984
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for a short break”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My wife, dog and I spent a couple of nights at the Reading Room this summer and had a fabulous time.

The house, garden and facilities were exactly what we needed and Cheryl couldn't help but be perfectly helpful.

Location is great for visits to the beach, tank museum, monkey world and the blue pool.

We definitely plan on returning in future!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPP52
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, lovely garden with stunning views.”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is the perfect summer house - sitting in the garden having a glass of wine and watching the sun go down over the Purbeck Hills is magical. We spent most of the time we were 'at home' in the garden; having breakfast on the raised decking, listening to the cricket sitting in deckchairs, and enjoying a BBQ during the best Bank Holiday weekend for decades. We also had meals in the garden room, with the doors open to catch a breeze. Our daughter was married in the magnificent church in the village and the reception was held in the Kingston Courtyard just down the road. Everything was perfect, and the bride and groom stayed with us before and after the wedding. The cottage is also very well equipped with everything you could need - from a washing machine and tumble dryer to hoola hoops ( we had a family challenge to see who could hoola for longest!). Great place to stay. Fabulous walks from the door in any direction.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing