We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed, quiet location.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cedar Cottage

Cedar Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cedar Cottage
Cedar Cottage Cedar Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Cedar Cottage
Cedar Cottage
Cedar Cottage
Willowhayne Farm Cottages
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Open Plan Lounge, Kitchen and Diner
Lounge
Kitchen
View from patio.
View from garden to Golden Cap
Some visitors to cottage patio
Master bedroom with kingsize bed
Master bedroom
Linen and towels provided
View from master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom with power shower
Bathroom
Second bedroom
Hallway
Fossils collected at Seatown beach. The beach is fifteen minutes walk away on public footpaths
Seatown Beach
Seatown beach under Golden Cap
Seatown beach is a great place to collect fossils
Looking down to Seatown Beach from Eype Down
Seatown Beach
Cedar Cottage is in the village of Chideock
Chideock
Chideock Church
Catholic Chapel in Chideock
Cedar Cottage
Local Attractions - Cliffs at Westbay (Broadchurch!)
Local Attractions - Cliffs at Westbay
Local Attractions - Westbay
Local Attractions - Westbay
Local Attractions - Westbay Harbour
Local Attractions - Lyme Regus (The Cobb)
Local Attractions - Durdle Dore
Local Attractions - Corfe Castle
Local Attractions - Seaton Tramway
Local Attractions - Thomas Hardy's Cottage, Puddletown Forest
Local Attractions - The Jurassic Coast
Local Attractions - Bridport stret market
Local Attractions - Bridport Church
Local Attractions - Bridport museum
Local Attractions - Bridport Townhall
Local Attractions - Tolpuddle Martyrs' Festival
Local Attractions - Tolpuddle Martyrs' Festival
Local Attractions - Tolpuddle Martyrs' Festival
Local Attractions - Tolpuddle Martyrs' Festival
Local Attractions - Tolpuddle Martyrs' Festival
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Chideock, Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fiona W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed, quiet location.”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Quiet cottage in farmland just off the main A35. Lovely 10 min walk to a small pebble beach, Seatown. 5-10mins the other way led to the small town of Chideock with it's golden stone bricks and pretty cottages. The George pub did a great Stonefired pizza on a Thursday.
Days were spent visiting the beautiful coastline and Dorset villages - Charmouth for fossils, Eypre, Westbay, Burton Bradstock, and Abbotsbury. We can recommend the Abbotsbury Tea rooms and a walk up the hill from the village to the St Catherine's chapel gives spectacular views.
Durdle Door and Lulworth cove really test the legs but are worth it - car park tickets cover both car parks so park at Durdle Door and walk down to see the arch then drive to Lulworth unless you a seasoned hill climber!
Sidmouth Donkey sanctuary is free to enter and has a fantastic new restaurant - great food and good prices. Time to stop off and explore Lyme Regis heading back.
We arrived to find the cottage clean and fully equipped with everything you could think of from tea, coffee and homemade made pot of jam to clingfilm and dishwasher tablets. Bizarrely, although tea towels and bath towels were provided we were only given 1 hand towel between the three of us (we had to purchase 3 more).
The bedrooms were comfortable and sitting area outside was so quiet - a regular buzzard flew over head.
The TV had freeview and there is a Dvd player. The TV did cause some difficultly switching on (taking 1/2hr one time!). By the end of the week we just left it on, mutrd when not in use. Free and fast wifi was a must and caused no problems.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipped kitchen and basic foodstuff
Liked least: noise protection between the rooms were not very well
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JP_Oldham
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely cottage in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 31 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The cottage was very well presented, well-equipped, spacious and comfortable. A nice welcome pack and flowers were waiting for us on arrival. There were useful maps and leaflets and also books, games and dvds to view. Wi-Fi was always excellent (very important for our teenage daughter!)
We used the cottage as a base to visit a variety of places like Lulworth Cove, Durdle Door Portland and Seaton, as well as spending quite a lot of time in West Bay. The beaches and coastal paths are lovely.
We would definitely recommend this cottage..

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Cedar Cottage , thank you for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countrylo...
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Cedar Cottage is in a gorgeous location, surrounded by beautiful countryside and a short walk to the sea. Fabulous coastal or country walks in one direction and a stroll along the private lane to the pretty village of Chideock, with its good pub for a drink or meal, in the other. You could be quite happy and content to forget your car and spend your holiday locally. Jill, leaves everything you need on arrival, tea, coffee etc and a generous box of breakfast cereal, biscuits and home made jam await you. The cottage is very spacious with adequate, simple furnishings and plenty of basic equipment. Enough crockery etc to make the good dishwasher very useful and convenient. The double bed is wonderfully comfortable and the power shower excellent. There is good parking very close to the cottage and a small private area outside for relaxing. We did go wanting peace and tranquillity and we had a small problem with the noise that the boiler makes when it comes on during the night and turned it off for the three nights we were there. If you are a good sound sleeper it might not bother you. There is an immersion heater that can be used instead. We could not unlock the patio doors and thanks to the kind neighbour who came round with his toolbox and tried to help and to the lovely housekeeper who left her Sunday dinner and got them open for us. She also offered to get a locksmith to sort the problem out but as we only had two days (and didn't want to stay in) we declined this and managed but considerable force is required. I understand the housekeeper is recommending to the owner that a locksmith should be called to repair or replace the the lock, so this should not be a problem to future guests. All in all its a comfortable, simple cottage that I would be happy to stay in again, I recommend it for a stress free holiday, in an amazing setting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful location
Liked least: The boiler coming on at night
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCK_6410
Pevely, Missouri
1 review
“Great cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced holiday near the sea, and we certainly found it. The cottage itself was comfortable, clean, and well-equipped. We were very happy that there was loads of storage in the frig for beverages and farm-shop finds. We had a little challenge figuring out the oven, which may have been the only appliance for which instructions couldn't be located. But after some trial and error, we got it sorted enough grill sausages and bacon.
At the back of the cottage is a terrace with privacy screens separating the seating area from neighbors, and a lawn with picnic tables for sharing. The view from the back is of tilled fields and pastures. I spent a few very early mornings watching the cows and sheep, pheasants and a family of roe deer. Just gorgeous.
An easy walk down to Seatown brought us to the Anchor Inn. This pub looks less than posh, but the food is great, the drinks reasonable, and they have cliff seating overlooking the beach and sea. I understand that they are going to be closed for renovation from October 2013 to March/April 2014. We look forward to going back in future to see how it turns out.
We took tremendous advantage of the location of our cottage to take day walks on the Southwest Coast path. We appreciated all the tourist material available from the owners in advance and in the cottage on arrival. This helped us plan some really great outings, all within a very small radius.
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Cedar Cottage, recommend it to others, and would return again ourselves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing