We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, family friendly beach holiday”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Hideaway
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
The Hideaway
Lounge
Twin Bedroom
Lyme Regis across the bay
View along the beach to Golden Cap
Charmouth Seafront
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Charmouth, Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
K W
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect, family friendly beach holiday”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The house is just perfect for a holiday at the seaside. There is so much to do in the surrounding area. Charmouth itself has a gorgeous beach with cafes and a few shops. The village centre has everything you would need, and both the beach and village are within a short walk of the house.

A short drive and you have the joys of Lyme Regis, Burton Bradstock and many other lovely places.

The house itself has everything you would need and is warm and comfortable.

Would definitely recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimmy L
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Quaint, cosy & lovely beach house, kid friendly - would stay again. 5-8mins from Charmouth Beach, fossil hunting fun!”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this lovely beach house for the weekend with plans to go fossil hunting for our daughter's 6th birthday.

The rooms were nice and our 2 young children enjoyed sleeping in their comfy beds in the room they shared together.

Kitchen was fully functional and well equipped with all the utensils you would require to make a nice breakfast before a morning of fossil hunting.

The living room had good space for us to relax all together and even wind down for the evening with a spot of tv (they have a Sky box and I think a DVD player which we didn't get to use).

The house was toasty and warm, which was a lovely welcome from the cool weather.

Shops were 5 minutes down the road and we were able to buy the essentials food wise.

Even more convenient is the fact that Charmouth beach is 5-8mins walk from the beach house. We spent one morning fossil hunting and found a few imprints of ammonites as well as small rocks with small ammonites embedded in them. One family who walked past us found large ammonites on stones as well as huge imprints of the fossil.

Lyme Regis is about 7-10mins drive from the Beach House - it's a busier town with a lot of restaurants, gift shops and Monmouth beach and Lyme Regis fossil beach is a good walk and great for fossil hunting.

Helen was great at communicating and very accommodating to meeting our needs.

Highly recommend staying at The Hideaway - we'll definitely be returning!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire H
1 review
“Weekend Fossil Hunting”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We spent the weekend at Charmouth and stayed at the Hideaway. The property was lovely and in a great location. Will definitely look to stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely house, great location”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and I took a break with our 2 teenage grandchildren. We were all impressed as soon as we walked in. The Hideaway is beautifully furnished and equipped. The very reliable WiFi pleased the kids, as did the DVD player, large screen TV and Sky+. The living room and open-plan kitchen were spacious and attractive and the bedrooms really comfortable. The garden is a pleasant place to relax with a decked area where we often took our lunch. Away from home, it is really well situated: the beach is an easy walk, as is the town centre, providing a good takeaway/cafe and a couple of pubs, a well stocked mini-market and a general store. We hardly needed to use the car, but a trip to Lyme Regis was worth taking.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor/furnishing and the convenient location
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing