We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect !!”

Review of Axen Lodge

Axen Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Axen Lodge
Sitting Room Snug Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Axen Lodge
Sitting Room
Snug Room
Dining Area
Kitchen
View of Cabin from Kitchen
Bedroom
Bedroom
The cabin
Inside the cabin
Inside the cabin
Hot tub
Views from the decked area
Axen Lodge
Axen Lodge
Views from Axen Lodge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beverleya...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect !!”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed for Christmas at Axen Lodge. The moment we walked through the front door our Christmas could begin, Axen provided every comfort, could not fault it in anyway. It was home from home ... only someone else had thought about all the little extras that makes a stay so much more restful and enjoyable !! We will return !!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gailyp123
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lovely cottage in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 3 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We have booked with Symondsbury Estate for the last 3 years, usually staying in another property (Eagles Nest) but as this house was already booked this year we settled on Axen Lodge and we were not disappointed
The house is lovely and, as always, of a high standard of cleanliness and attention to detail. A lovely hamper full of eggs, milk, bread, jam etc; gorgeous cosy dressing gowns and a good supply of logs. The jacuzzi is wonderfully warm and we had to draw lots to decide who was going to stay in the log cabin as we all wanted to!
The best bit about Axen Lodge for me is access to the bike trail (great for walking/running the dogs too) and you can access the village and not have to drive to the pub! FABULOUS!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Easy access to village
Liked least: WiFi signal is a bit flakey but the whole village suffers from this
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traciedso...
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed 31 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

A real bargain for a couple of small families or big family with a car. Kids loved the games room and climbing rooms..we enjoyed the sky sports and bbq of an evening...only thing missing was a hot tub.that would make it super excellent..other than that was excellent...plenty to do locally...would definitely visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy275
Haslemere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing setting for the weekend!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Myself and a group of friends stayed at Axen Lodge for my hen weekend and I could not have asked for a better setting.

The cottage itself is beautiful and the log cabin a lovely addition to the house. The cottage is surrounded by hills and you really feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. Many a morning was spent in the hot tub with a cup of tea and many an evening in the same location but with a glass of wine!

We came prepared with what I deemed 'kitchen essentials' but there was no need to bring any of it as the cottage is extremely well equipped.

Would not hesitate to recommend this cottage to anyone and we are already planning our return visit!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub!
Liked least: There was nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sooty1234...
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location and a wonderful stay !”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Axes lodge is newly renovated with absolutely everything you need for your stay. There is a trampoline and a hot tub in the garden with to die for views in a secluded location. We stayed here with another family and had an amazing time. The kids were entertained with an array of games provided at the lodge.

All the rooms are beautifully decorated with a cosy feel and cooking in the kitchen with views of rolling hills was amazing.

We will definitely return.

Thank you Wendy at Symondsbury Estate

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and location
Liked least: The 10am checkout
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$244
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing