We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Extremely comfortable cottage in idyllic location”
Old Post Office
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old Post Office
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Old Post Office
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Dining Area
Dining Area
Bedroom - zip & link bed can be double or 2 singles.
Double Bedroom
Bedroom
Single Bedroom
Outside dining area
Old Post Office showing games room
Games Room
The village of Symondsbury
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MamaBobo
East Lothian
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Extremely comfortable cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We spent a week at The Old Post Office in October with our dog and teenaged son. The cottage is charming, with a rustic shabby chic vibe and a pleasant airy feel in spite of the low ceilings..taller people beware of the kitchen doorway!

The cottage is very comfortable, the beds in particular were excellent, and the whole house was well heated. The large bathroom and power shower were great. The kitchen was well equipped and when we experienced problems with the dishwasher someone came on the same day and fixed it. Very impressed with the service over that and every time we contacted Wendy and her team in the run up to our stay.

The large garden was very pretty and the games room would be great if you had younger kids. It was a handy place for us to store our tandem! If you have a small dog then beware that they can get under the front gates easily....we had to watch our cocker spaniel closely when he was out there. The back garden is completely secure though.

The location of the cottage is great with a cosy and friendly village pub just a few minutes walk away and there are some great walks described in a folder in the cottage. Our son loved the free wifi which was very good, quick and stable compared to what we have at home in a similar country location. A second TV is provided in the master bedroom...as always seems to be the case...and it would have been better to have had that in the second bedroom so that our son could have used it. As it was it was never on.

Our only suggestion, other than moving the second TV would be a stair gate at the bottom of the stairs. The one at the top is quite fiddly to operate, very difficult one handed, and all of us slipped at some point trying to fasten it. If there were a gate at the bottom we'd never have needed the top one (it was keeping the dog at bay!) and people with small children would only need to have the top one fastened when the little people were upstairs. As things stand if you are travelling with toddlers I'd take a gate for the bottom of the stairs.

The Old Post Office was a really lovely place to stay. It was incredibly comfortable and in a beautiful setting. It's very convenient for Bridport which is a lovely little town. We'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amazingly comfy beds.
Liked least: The electric cooker (but that's just personal preference!)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie H
Lancing, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable cottage in a beautiful village.”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A very comfortable and spacious cottage. Facilities are good ie games room, barbecue etc. the village is beautiful with a lovely pub that serves excellent food. There is plenty to do and see in the area including Charmouth and Lyme Regis beaches which are excellent for fossiling.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beds were very comfortable and spacious
Liked least: The gardener arrived to cut the grass at the same time as us so I spent the whole week cleaning up grass from the property.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhoulsron
2 reviews
“A reminder of what England was and is”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The Old Post Office is secluded. However so close to the coast just a few minutes drive. It is quiet and peaceful with a wonderful standard of accommodation. There are many intriguing historical and other countryside delights which are so close and amazing if you know where to look in the surrounding area. These continue to surprise and go back centuries !

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aGs1308
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A little bit of luxury in glorious surroundings”
Reviewed 4 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at The Old Post Office, and it was as special the second time as the first. The cottage is quaint but spacious, practical yet cosy and above all else has a real luxurious feel to it. It is set in a good size garden, with ample parking on the drive way for all and wood burner in the dining room and the open fire in the lounge almost make it too cosy to leave on an Autumn / WInter day. The bedding, towels and bath robes are all supplied and are of wonderful quality as is the welcome hamper of the main food necessities to get your stay off to the right start. The town of Bridport is 5 minutes drive away and has everything you would need; the beaches are also 5 mins drive away, and whilst being pebbly they are uncrowded and peaceful. The booking of the cottage and all the administration is seamless too. So all in all, I love this place - so much so, I'm looking at booking my third stay very soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect location
Liked least: The weather!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deb P P
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect intimate family holiday.”
Reviewed 18 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

The cottage was meticulously clean and well presented, and generosity of "welcome food", firewood, bath robes, cleaning products etc, all so much appreciated. It really did feel like you were putting our pleasure and satisfaction at the forefront of your business. My middle son (12) said: "that was probably one of the best family holidays ever!" and we did have pretty awful weather! So a huge thankyou to all at the estate. Your cleaners are first-class, and Ruth a lovely, courteous and efficient go-between.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, warm, cosy, welcoming, and we all slept so well!
Liked least: The only thing I can come up with was that there wasnt a tea cosy for the teapot!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing