We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great holiday let for a large family group.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Northend Farmhouse

West side of farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West side of farmhouse
kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
West side of farmhouse
kitchen
dining room
kids room single zip to make lovely superking double
kids room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nevil O
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great holiday let for a large family group.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We loved Northend farmhouse. On arriving we found a generous welcome pack sourced from the local farmshop. The accomodation was spacious and the kitchen was very well equipped which made for easy self catering. The dining room was larger than it looked on the picture, and there was a table outside. The sitting room is very large. The owner showed us round the microbrewery in the grounds. The property was ideal for our adult family group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Lots of space. Quiet location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick L
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A peaceful rural retreat”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Northend is a lovely old thatched farmhouse sitting at the end of a small country road in a true rural setting.The farmhouse is about one mile from Chideok which is a lovely village (a pity about the A35 though) and the local pub, the George offers good food. The farmhouse is spacious and comfortable. We were a group of 10 and the dining table comfortably accommodated us all with room to spare. Wifi was fine, some clear and simple instructions on how to work the TVs would have been helpful. Lyme Regis, Seatown, Beer, Seaton,West Bay and Bridport are all very close. Dorchester, Abbotsbury and Chessil Beach are also within striking distance and they are all worth a visit.The coastal path offers great walks with stunning views. The weather was reasonable during our stay and we were able to do lots of walking and sightseeing. Northend Farm is well placed for both. We enjoyed our stay at the farm and have no regrets about booking it for our holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Thepeaceful rural setting
Liked least: The relatively complex system for turning on the TVs
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
Thankyou for the review. We will add TV operating instructions to the handbook. I have recently added our netflix and amazon prime to them. We hope to see you all again Eddie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
849Pizzy7...
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely family holiday.”
Reviewed 7 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We spent a week at the farm. We were 12 in total and a dog. This is a quaint thatched cottage with lovely views. It is a peaceful area with garden fenced off which was ideal for the kids and dog. There was lots of space for everyone. We enjoyed lovely BBQs in the evening. We were greeted with an enjoyable cream tea on arrival.We would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlie P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful spot and great home to spend time indoors and out”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just had a great weekend with 10 of us - loads of space to hang out while the weather turned bad... snooker table and fire places to keep us warm and entertained. Then some great walks down to the coast to drink local ales and eat seafood. had some great meals around the huge table and good cooking on the aga or the electric oven. Eddie was a great host. Thanks, C

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 2 living rooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte...
1 review
“Perfect, just perfect - I would og back any time”
Reviewed 4 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I have just come back from a weekend at the cottage. I stayed with eight girlfriends and we all loved it. If you are looking for a cosy old house with all modern facilities - close to the sea and stunning country side you have come to the right place. We got a welcome pack on arrival which was all the elements of a cream tea sourced from the local farm shop. There is everything you could imagine at the cottage to entertain a group of people and the hosts Eddie and Clare are great, very helpful and accommediating. Can't wait to book it again, thinking about dragging the family there for Christmas.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing