We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
70
30
9
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
70
30
9
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sister site estuary view seasonal pitch hot tub holiday park ladram bay hard standing pitch peaceful site shower block touring caravan woodland walk underfloor heating fully serviced pitches clean showers and toilets tiny shop onsite restaurant on arrival
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Travelled here in May. Part of a large group. Mixed feelings about this place. On one hand the mobile homes are of very good quality, and kept sparkling clean. The grounds are pleasant. It is a clean and tidy park. But on the other hand our stay was spoiled by an extremely over zealous manager who lost the plot about a few lads making a bit of noise. Tried to throw us off camp. It was a bank holiday weekend. There will be kids on site! I suspect there will be a sniffy reply from the management team to this review, but have a look at my other reviews. I really try and be as positive and constructive as possible. The lady manager in question here had an element of Basil Fawlty about her. Totally over the top in aggressive communication and attitude. This is a good campsite and a good business, but I'm not sure it's a place for kids. Which is a bizarre position for a campsite to be in.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank EllieHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHPManager, Manager at Castle Brake Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2016

Thank you for your review of your holiday back in May. As we are a family holiday park, we do have a zero policy towards noise complaints, our customers choose to holiday with us to enjoy our rural location. Sadly the number of complaints we received about your group booking meant that we had to take action to ensure our other guests could enjoy their holiday. I would suggest that as we are a small quiet family owned and managed holiday park we were not an appropriate place for your group booking. We wish you all the best in finding a more suitable holiday location in the future. Kind regards, Amy and the Castle Brake team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

We went originally just for the night in the tent but we decided when we got there to book a caravan! So glad we did as it was luxury! We went to the sister site for the day and evening which we all loved. We enjoyed going back to our caravan where it was so peaceful. The kids loved the play area. Looking to book again!

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank Connector806974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHPManager, Manager at Castle Brake Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Thank you for your 5 star review, its so lovely when our guests take the time out to write a lovely review. We really do have the best of both worlds being ideally located for exploring the area and visiting our sister site for the facilities as well as taking in the wonderful local woodlands and tranquil environment. We are excited to see you again so please call us to get booked in. Kind regards Amy and the Castle Brake team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Fabulous toilet and shower block. Very clean and modern. Recently refurbished by the looks of things.
Quiet and calm with all dogs kept on leads.
Very green, clean and pretty, with good sized pitches.
Hookup directly to mains water, electric and sewerage.

Definitely one to come back too!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Rowe-Family-Of-Five
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHPManager, Manager at Castle Brake Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2016

Thank you for your 5 star review, it’s so lovely to get such a fantastic review. We are so happy you liked our amenity block and touring facilities we do take great pride in ensuring our guests enjoy their holidays with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, Kind regards Amy and the Castle Brake team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2016 via mobile

My family have owned a static on this site since 2004, in that time the site has changed ownership and has undergone renovation. I cannot fault the site it's peaceful and quiet. Family facilities in the shower block are spot on. Brilliant location close to local towns but far enough away to escape city/town life. Perfect for weekend, week and longer breaks as there is plenty to do in the local area, The Donkey Sanctuary, Crealys and the facilities at the sister site Ladram Bay.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank rossi-46-1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHPManager, Manager at Castle Brake Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words, it means so much to all the staff, especially when seasoned owners take the time to comment. We are very proud of the park and our facilities. Our location means we are ideally situated for a rural escape or exploring the local area. We hope you continue to enjoy many more years of happy ownership with us. Kind regards Amy and the Castle Brake team.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

I visited this site with my wife and two year old daughter over the bank holiday, the site is beautiful and peaceful, the facilities are superb - very clean, modern and in good condition. There is a little bar/bistro on site which we unfortunately didn't get a chance to use. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful.

The only things that my wife and I thought could improve were, 1. There was no baby change unit in the family bathroom that we used, although I understand there is one in the other bathroom (its a small complaint but i thought worth mentioning on here as it is easily rectified). And 2. There wasn't really anything in the play park for my daughters age, it was all for older children, an infant slide/swing wouldn't go amiss!

These are very small grievances and would most certainly not stop me from staying again, thank you Castle Brake.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Hhappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CBHPManager, Manager at Castle Brake Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review of your holiday with us, we believe we provide the perfect rural retreat so its lovely to see that you agree with us. Thank you for your suggestions we will certainly consider them when looking at improvements ready for next season. Just as a reminder all of customers can visit our sister park Ladram Bay (approx. 6 miles away) and park free of charge to enjoy their facilities which would be perfect for your daughter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews