We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than home”
other travellers have booked this property
Crossways Holiday Cottages.com a beautiful barn conversion in North Devon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crossways Holiday Cottages.com a beautiful barn conversion in North Devon
Stunning views across to Exmoor from the guest's garden Dartmoor Cottage Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Crossways Holiday Cottages.com a beautiful barn conversion in North Devon
Stunning views across to Exmoor from the guest's garden
Dartmoor Cottage Lounge
Dartmoor Cottage Kitchen breakfast room
Dartmoor Cottage Double bedroom
Dartmoor Cottage Twin bedroom
Dartmoor Cottage Double bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Umberleigh, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Quintilis...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Better than home”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Over the years our family have stayed in many cottages but this one was by far the best equipped, the beds the most comfortable and the hosts the most gracious. Nothing was too much trouble. We even had a lovely carrot cake left for us on our arrival. The dogs loved it as there is a safe enclosed area for them to run free in. Lots of lovely walks and views across to Exmoor. An ideal place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tayport d
Tayport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great accomodation in a wonderful setting.”
Reviewed 10 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My partner and I (and two dogs) stayed for a week during a spell of great weather (always helps!). The cottage (Dartmoor) has three well presented bedrooms, an adequate bathroom (shower over bath) and a lovely open plan kitchen/diner/living room with all mod cons. It was clean and fresh with nice hardwood furnishings, a real homely feel. Outside there is a guests garden with two picnic tables and a bench and there is a further paddock area which is ideal for dog owners. The views from the garden are splendid. It was very peaceful. The surrounding area is great to explore with Barnstable just up the road and loads of pubs/restaurants a short drive away. The owners, Lory and Colin, are very friendly and flexible with staying dates/leaving times. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Shower over the bath. Would prefer a walk in shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almeek200...
1 review
“A Perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed 16 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Booked the cottage as a last minute getaway for the two of us. The cottage was secluded and private, a great place to get away from everything.

The cottage itself was well-equipped, clean, modern and very comfortable. With a cake on arrival!

Would definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy B
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spacious, very clean and comfortable”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is our third stay as a family at Crossways Cottages. Our most recent visit was in Dartmoor Cottage. The cottage is very well decorated and spacious to accommodate all 6 of us plus a visit from our family who live near by in Chittlehampton. There is plenty of seating and the kitchen is well equipped.
The beds are very comfortable and the bed linen is great quality. The Nintendo wii was a great hit with our 7 year old son!
Thank you to Lory for being so welcoming as usual. Thank you for the Hot Cross Buns on arrival. Lovely touch.
We will be back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, size, decor, location
Liked least: A little cold in the kitchen but it was February!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thankyou for your glowing review. We love feedback because it allows us to improve our guests holiday experience and therefore we have now popped some additional heating in the kitchen of Dartmoor Cottage. We look forward to welcoming you to Crossways Holiday Cottages again.

Lory.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSMcB
Surrey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage, beautiful countryside, great days out”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My friend and I stayed at Dartmoor Cottage for a week of total relaxation from hectic jobs and it certainly did the trick. The cottage is decorated to a very high standard and well equipped with everything you need. The owners are close by should you need to know anything and made us feel really welcome, without being obtrusive - and the cream tea on arrival was a lovely touch (and very yummy!). We could easily reach the coast within the hour to do some fabulous coastal walks around Woolacombe, Ilfracombe, Lynmouth and Clovelly and enjoy the stunning scenery. There are some great pubs for eating in - we particularly enjoyed the Blue Ball Inn at Countisbury near Lynmouth (great food and dog friendly) and found the welcome at the more local Cranford Inn warm and friendly (they even did us two roast lunches even though they'd stopped serving food by the time we got there). It was lovely to come back after a long walk, stretch out on the two big sofas to watch a DVD and then fall into the super comfy beds at the end of the day. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location for visiting lots of different areas; very comfortable cottage
Liked least: Right on road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing