We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic family break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Long Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jlonsdale...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic family break”
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We have just come back from our first break at three gates farm. Even though the weather wasn't great we had a fantastic time. We stayed in the long barn which was perfectly laid out for two family's. It was very clean, with everything we needed. The owners were extremely helpful and welcoming and showed us around on arrival. The swimming pool made our holiday, we couldn't get our 3yr out of it, she had so much fun.
The barn was in a great location for exploring South Devon, but tuck away in the peace and quiet countryside. I feel the barn was really good value for all the amenities and hope to return soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulieB_9
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Long Barn for 2 nights in April 2015. We chose Three Gates Farm for its location as we were visiting friends in the area. We also only wanted a 2 night (Friday and Saturday) stay and they were happy to accomodate this. It's a nice part of Devon - scenic but not massively touristy with great countryside to explore. The barn being all on one level was an added bonus as my elderly father who travelled with us finds stairs a little difficult. The barn is lovely - well equipped, cosy, clean. Everyone said their bed was comfortable. We used the pool, sauna and gym - a nice addition to the facilities. We liked watching the birds on the feeders from the windows and eating the fresh hens eggs that are available. I liked hearing about the two cats. The hosts were lovely - friendly and welcoming and keen to make sure we had everything we needed. They very kindly provided a cream tea for our arrival.
If I could make one suggestion it would be to have a bigger teapot (big enough for 5) and a tea cosy.

Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsClilve...
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, wonderful accommodation and welcoming hosts! ”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We stayed over Easter in The Long Barn and have been very pleasantly surprised at how lovely the cottage and farm as a whole are...the Long Barn is spacious yet cosy, spotlessly clean and well maintained with a careful blend of new and old to retain character. There were 4 of us staying in the cottage so there was plenty of room however an extended family could easily stay as there are 3 bedrooms, 2 full sized bathrooms, a large living area (with 2 large & comfy sofas!) proper cooking facilities, loads of storage and cutlery/crokery for 10 (we managed 8 of us around the dining table 1 night!) The play facilitates are great outside and the pool is amazing. Like another reviewer mentioned - all the cottages were booked out all week but we never had to share the pool which was a real bonus. Lynn & Jonathan the owners are so very welcoming and even laid on an easter egg hunt for all the kids on Easter Sunday which was a lovely treat. The cream tea on arrival was another lovely touch. I could go on and on as had such a fantastic stay at Three Gates... I would definitely recommend it...although I almost want to keep it a secret place just for us so we can return again next year!!!

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammi H
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Blissful”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Having visited with my family and stayed in The Long Barn a couple of years ago when my partner and I were looking for somewhere to go on holiday in the UK this was the first place I thought of.

We stayed in Nuthatch and the cottage was scrupulously clean, with tea and lovely biscuits waiting for us on arrival. The log burner and four poster bed give it a wonderfully cosy and romantic feeling and you really couldn't wish for a more perfect location. Three Gates Farm is set in beautiful, quiet surroundings and this plus the other cottages and farmhouse (where the owners live) on the site give a lovely feeling of isolation and safety all at once. If you're after a romantic night in grab some candles, bring along some DVDs, light the log burner and snuggle up on the sofa. If you prefer a fun night out then Exeter isn't far away for great bars and clubs.

Tiverton is just a few miles away for shops, and The Swan in nearby Bampton is well worth visiting for an amazing meal and customer service. I'd definitely recommend a trip in to Exeter which is around 45minutes away but would advise using the park and ride service to get in to the city centre easily.

The on-site pool is really worth mentioning. It was beautifully maintained and even though the other cottages were occupied we never saw anyone else over there which made us feel like we had our own private pool! There's also a ping-pong table and pool table on site (although we didn't use them) so there's plenty to keep you entertained without needing to leave the site if you don't want to.

We had the most amazing stay and having got engaged in front of the log burner we have some really special memories of the place. We will most definitely be back!

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neasa M
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very well cared for”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

There were five of us who stayed in the Long Barn at Three Gates in September 2014 and all of us agreed that the place was a joy to stay in. We particularly appreciated the care that went into the place. It was beautifully maintained. There are no half measures here. The pool and sauna were added bonuses. It is a lovely location.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing