We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very well cared for”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Long Barn

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Tiverton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Neasa M
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very well cared for”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

There were five of us who stayed in the Long Barn at Three Gates in September 2014 and all of us agreed that the place was a joy to stay in. We particularly appreciated the care that went into the place. It was beautifully maintained. There are no half measures here. The pool and sauna were added bonuses. It is a lovely location.

Value Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Accommodation and Location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from our second stay at Three Gates Farm, last year we stayed in the Long Barn as my parents stayed with us and this year we stayed in May Cottage. Both times the cottages have been exceptionally clean and equipped with everything you could possibly require. The indoor pool is a fantastic feature with the benefit of a small gym area and sauna. The rural location has stunning views and is well served by the nearby villages and the local town of Tiverton. It's central location means that you can be at both the North Coast and South Coast within the hour and there are loads of places to visit; Sidmouth, Escott and Dunster were amongst our favourites. Jonathan and Lynne work hard and put a lot of thought into ensuring everything is just right and it certainly shows. We would have no hesitation in recommending Three Gates Farm, it is a Devon delight.

Rooms Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyne...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Cottages and facilities!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have recently returned from our second visit to Three Gates, this time in the beautiful, spacious Long Barn and with 2 children and a grandparent, the layout of the property was perfect. Nothing is too much trouble here - there's loads of thoughtful information on what to do, where to eat, the children were invited to feed the chickens and rabbits, the play area and games room are an added bonus and the swimming pool is fantastic. This year we again took the opportunity to arrange swimming lessons for the children (aged 8 & 4) and they came on tremendously in just 3 lessons and we also treated ourselves to a massage with Charlotte, who we highly recommend! The location is typical Devon and adds to the feeling of getting away from it all, but within easy reach of some lovely villages, pubs and things to do. We would highly recommend a break here - no doubt we'll be back for a 3rd visit in the very near future!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HB393
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to recharge your batteries”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Went for a long weekend with friends and this was a great place get away from things. We stayed in the Long Barn which was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed (kitchen amenities, dvd, WiFi etc). Pool is great and pretty much had it to ourselves while we were there. Rural location with winding country lanes and lovely views over the valley. We spent a sunny afternoon at and around the Tarr Steps which is beautiful and worth a visit. The owners were really welcoming and helpful and although i visited with friends, I would certainly recommend for families (and will be back with my own).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bel_biddy...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Love the Long Barn Cottage at Three Gates Farm, it suited us perfectly. Felt like home away from home with great facilities, lovely views, amazing starry night skies, peaceful and charming spot. Loved our early morning swims to get us ready for a day of exploring the beautiful country side & beaches. Fantastic Thai takeaway, great cream teas & lovely pub food near bye. Lynn and Jonathan are such lovely hosts with lots of local knowledge. We left feeling refreshed and recharged for life's adventures. We shall be back.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing