We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy cottage, fabulous location”
other travellers have booked this property
Ada's Terrace, Mortehoe.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ada's Terrace, Mortehoe.
View across the gardens to National Trust land and the Sea View from the rear of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Ada's Terrace, Mortehoe.
View across the gardens to National Trust land and the Sea
View from the rear of the property
Ilfracombe Harbour
Open fireplace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John A
Mortehoe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cosy cottage, fabulous location”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The location of this little cottage is brilliant - the amenities of the village are on the doorstep, superb beaches are a few minutes away and a lovely walk to the stunning views from Morte Point begins just over the road. The cottage itself is cosy, very well equipped and well presented. Carol is simply lovely. She made us really welcome and couldn't have been more helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The shower
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GinaCWats...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a perfect location”
Reviewed 21 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We came to Mortehoe with our feisty 2 year old and he loved it! The cottage was perfect for our needs with all the comforts from home and all the space our little family needed. It was a home from home. The garden was a great bonus, especially in such a prime location.

The house in situated right in the middle of the village, within a few minutes walking distance of 3 pubs, a village store, the museum, a take away, a fish and chip shop, a tea room and a souvenir shop (I think that is everything, but I may have missed something)! There are some lovely beaches nearby, my favourite was Combesgate Beach, a 15 minute walk. Woolecombe is also within easy walking distance, about 20 minutes. The nearest beach is also very nice and is just across the road, through a field and down some steps, about 5-10 minutes away. The views from the cottage are beautiful. You can see the sea from the living room.

Carol the neighbour greeted us and made sure we had everything we needed. The owner, Colin, was always very prompt in replying to my messages and very helpful.

I would have not hesitate in recommending this cottage to my friends and family.

There are a lot of hills about, so I would not recommend this area to anyone with mobility problems. Roads are very narrow, sometimes without a path and there are generally steps involved in any outing. There is a local bus service, although we did not use this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Central location and home from home feel to holiday
Liked least: Not having pavements on narrow roads and having to share the road with traffic.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam C
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab views!”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is in a great location with fabulous views from the front garden, however the cottage itself could do with a bit of tlc! Also, for the price paid would expect to have bed linen and towels provided, expected the cooker to be clean and to not have to wash greasy cooking trays which were left in the oven! Would've also been nice to be able to use the backyard seating area, however it was not in good condition with weeds in the flowerpots and an old door propped up against the wall. Would've also been good to have a clothes horse or similar to dry clothes/wetsuits etc indoors when raining outside.

As I said though, great location especially for the village, pubs, beaches and coastal walks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the front garden were stunning and the location was fab!
Liked least: Having to supply own bed linen and towels - for the price paid I would expect these to be included. Also the backyard couldv'e been a really nice place to sit and have breakfast in the morning, however, it was in a poor state!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BuffaloPh...
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy and comfortable with a superb location.”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

$ Ada's Terrace is in a great location with beautiful views across the sea to Baggy Point and Lundy Island, and yet is fairly sheltered from any storms by the headland. It also has the advantages of being within walking distance of the three good pubs, especially the nearest, The Chichester Arms which has excellent chefs and an excellent menu,, and some very good shops and cream tea places.it has a sheltered, sunny garden. It is ideal for dog owners as several very beautiful walks start from just outside the frnt door. Carol , who keeps the key was always nearby. to give assistance and she made us very welcome.Inside the cottage has home comforts and all you require for four people. It is clean with a roomy kitchen and a cosy sitting room which looks out over the sea, catching the sunsets. Parking is a bit far away for those who cannot walk very far but secure and in a private bay on the roadside. The bathroom is clean and has a good shower over a very large bath, which was difficult to fill from the smallish hot water cylinder. Mortehoe is a lovely visit with everything you would need to enjoy a holiday without having to cook, much better for shops and pubs than Woolacombe, which is only about a mile away if you want a beach.. We shall definitely book again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Superb location
Liked least: sitting room a bit on the small side
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuluWild
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not be better!”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay. Carol was always on hand if we had any questions. Except bed linen and towels there was everything else you could wish for. We would definitely recommend this lovely place.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing