We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious modern and comfortable house finished to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cromlech House

front room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front room
kitchen/dining Floorplans
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
front room
kitchen/dining
Floorplans
bedroom 1
front entrance
bedroom 2, in Aug 2011 before it was furnished
bathroom 1
bedroom 3
bedroom 4
bedroom 4
bedroom 1's bay window and french doors to private balcony
The Crecent, Mortehoe
Mortehoe church
Grunta beach
Woolacombe, Barricane Combesgate and Grunta beaches
The Crecent, Mortehoe
bathroom 2
bedroom 3
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anita G
Aldridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious modern and comfortable house finished to a high standard in one of the best locations in the UK.”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in Cromlech house last weekend - Friday to Sunday. Although we had only booked a two night stay the owner Dom allowed us to check out as late as we wanted on Sunday which made it a lovely long relaxed weekend. I have to say that Dom has been most helpful throughout the whole booking procedure, full of useful information and even asked for ideas of how to improve future stays - of which I couldn't think of many! Any suggestions I did make were welcomed and acted upon.
We previously stayed at Cromlech in 2008 prior to Dom and Iona's conversion in 2010 when the property was a rambling 10 bedroom house in need of some TLC. Although we enjoyed our previous stay vast improvement has now been made and despite the fact that the house has been split in two still retains the feel of spaciousness with a breakfast kitchen that easily seats two families with children. The master bedroom is very spacious as is the twin room with additional sofa bed which makes up into a large double - ideal for children. The further two double rooms are also extremely comfortable with plenty of storage and comfortable beds. The two bathrooms - one on each of the bedroom floors are finished to a high standard with a really good shower on the first floor one and a bath on the second floor one. Other plus points to the house was the free wifi of which the children made good and constant use! Also lots of books and games are provided which gives the place a real homely feel. Although we spent most of the day times out and about it was lovely to come back to Cromlech in the late afternoon/evening for a home cooked relaxing meal around the large kitchen table and then a comfortable seat in the lounge.
Needless to say this will not be our last visit to Cromlech house and hopefully next time it be a longer one! All credit to Dom for his attention to detail and excellent communication throughout. All in all a fantastic place :))

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious feel and modern but comfortable feel of the place.
Liked least: If you are bringing dogs - I suppose it's a bit awkward letting them out or leaving the kitchen door open. But not a big problem really.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg M
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Dominic was fantastic to deal with, being very helpful and organised, so much so that the housekeeping deposit is already back in my account. Cromlech house is in a great location on a quiet road, in the centre of the village. It was well cleaned and has an excellent family kitchen. Dominic kindly arranged, for a reasonable fee, for the house to be cleaned at the end of the first week, during our two week stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janejones...
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

A beautiful house in a fabulous location! Lovely views in a great village atmosphere, a stone's throw from the pub. Nice to be near Woolacombe (literally 5 mins drive) but a little bit out in the lovely village of Mortehoe. A very comfortable house with lovely interior decoration. The owner is so helpful and friendly and fabulous to deal with. The only minus is there is no outdoor area or terrace, but when you're all day at the beach and you have the pub garden over the road it's not too much of a problem! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and interior design
Liked least: No outdoor area
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatDen90
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful location, perfect house.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at Cromlech House as a surprise for my very chilled out and relaxed hen do. I was over the moon when we got to Mortehoe and walked in to a beautiful, huge house with great bedrooms and amazing views. It was very clean and well looked after, it looked newly decorated and very well furnished. We stayed the first weekend of June 2013, and were extremely lucky with the weather. We walked to the beach every day. The trek back up the hill was a killer but well worth it for the location and the views- Plus made us feel better for lying around on the beach all day!
The village of Mortehoe was lovely, with three little pubs and a great pasty shop! I would certainly recommend this accommodation to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the views
Liked least: The big hill! But i'd do it all again and again!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica_A...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely large house perfect for a getaway with friends”
Reviewed 10 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Cromlech House with eight friends for the first May bank holiday 2013. Cromlech House was perfect for our needs, with large (some huge!) light bedrooms, and a great, very spacious kitchen to spend time in. The house is quite modern and very tranquilly decorated, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The only thing to note is there is no outdoor space, and the balcony off the first bedroom is not really large enough to use as a useful space a group of 8, though it is a nice addition and gets the sun all afternoon. The house is in a great location in the centre of Mortehoe opposite the pub and surrounded by outlets for a Devonshire cream tea and morning coffee. Woolacombe bay is easily walkable and we also spent time in Ilfracombe and Croyde which are a short car ride away.

The owners couldn’t have been more helpful in making sure everything went smoothly from initial enquiry through the whole weekend. Dom gave us more information and tips than we could possibly use in a long weekend – we only wished we were there for longer!

Would thoroughly recommend Cromlech House for groups of friends looking for a beach activities holiday, or families, for walks and relaxation – for all of which it is perfectly suitable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and large airy rooms full of sunshine
Liked least: Lack of garden space - though not a huge issue when surrounded by Devon countyside!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$192
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing