We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended, we will be here again.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Buttery

front of terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of terrace
front room kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
front of terrace
front room
kitchen
kitchen
bedroom 1 with private balcony
bedroom 1
rear private terrace
rear private terrace with sea view
bathroom 2
Mortehoe church
ground floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
1st floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
2nd floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
Buttery kitchen with 14-seater table configuration - can also be configured to seat 18 or 10 or 8.
view of Mortehoe from hill to rear
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EKOJ1981
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended, we will be here again.”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We rented this for us, our daughter and her family including 4 children from 1 to 13. The house was great and catered for all ages including small details such as tableware for a baby. The bedrooms were lovely and comfortable and the bathrooms felt quite luxurious especially after a day at the beach! The utility room is brilliant for chucking everything in and keeping beachwear including wet suits separate from the house.
Between us we tried and tested all 3 local pubs and both take away options. The fish and chip shop has an amazing menu and was very tasty. We also found the post office very useful when we needed cash.
Overall a great holiday in a great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bathrooms and utility room
Liked least: Size of shower cubicle in top bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2015
We (and the 3 pubs!) look forward to your return. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy P
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Still one my favourite place on earth!”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I love coming back to Mortehoe and the Buttery. I can't stay away and it was so nice to be back this time too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2015
Hi Lucy, you're always VERY welcome. Dom
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelly m
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Venue in the most beautiful village!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just had the most amazing weekend at The Crescent. We were already in love with Mortehoe having stayed in the village many a time of the last 5 years. We celebrated our wedding weekend at the house and it was perfect as it meant the bride and groom could sleep in seperate houses the night before. The house is beautiful, the decor is fab, the layout is fantastic and it has absolutely everything you could need. Can't wait for our next family celebration so we can go back. The communication and customer service from Dom the owner was excellent.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Great to hear that the wedding weekend went so well .... CONGRATULATIONS! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wythallma...
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely house”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Possibly the best holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. It is a very spacious, stylish and well-equipped house in a pretty village with good pubs, an excellent chippie, a useful general store for basics and a children’s playground. With three bathrooms, a downstairs loo and a massive kitchen it was ideal for our three generation family holiday.
You are minutes away from some lovely coastal walks and it’s a 15 minute downhill walk to the lovely sandy beaches at Woolacombe which offers traditional seaside fun without the “tat” that often goes with it.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole ambience
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauliegot...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely house, recommended”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great stuff, thanks for a great holiday. Nice walking near by, pub opposite is friendly, good views all round. Hope to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing